Royal College ran riot at the 47th Royal Thomian regatta as they notched up a 50-2 victory against their arch rivals S Thomas’ at the Colombo Rowing Club.

Hashen Hettigoda kicked things off for the Royalist as he bagged the first win of the day for the reigning champions, as he won the Senior scull with a timing of 3 minutes and 32 seconds.

Arjun Wickramanayake responded in the following race as he shifted the momentum towards the Thomains in the junior (B) scull when he brought it home with an identical timing of 3.32.

It was Royal all the way from that point onwards as they managed to win every single race in the remainder of the regatta.

Thimesha Amarasena and Praveen Hapugoda equalled the Royal-Thomain record as they finished the senior pair at 3.12 minutes. Charin Wijethilake and Lasindu Gamage made fair weather of their Junior pair race which they managed to complete in 3.21 minutes to consolidate the Royal overall lead.

Hashen Hettigoda was in action ones again as he teamed up with Lasaru Kudaligama to bring home the A double scull title with a timing of 3.15 minutes. Waruna Hewamanna and Jatu Lockwood proved no different to their senior pairing as they secured the B double scull ballot with an impressive 3.18 minutes timing.

The under 16 fours comprising of Thejiya Warakagoda,Deelaka Mahale,Mayukha Gamage and Jehan Hapugalle coxed by Dinal Aluthgama eased passed their opponents with a timing of 3.32 minutes.

Such was the story of Junior B fours as Isira Rambukwella, Lasindu Gamage, Pasindu Alwis and Sajaad Ajmal who’s cox was Revata Karunasundara who took home the victory in 3.16 minutes.

Thimesha Amarasena, Praveen Weerakkody, Charin Wijethilake and Lasaru Kudaligama coxed by Revata Karunasundara secured the Eraj Wijesinghe Trophy by an impressive timing of 3.15 seconds

The prestigious boat race also known as the ‘senior four’ was raced by skipper Kaveen Rajapaksha, Prathap Perera,.Hashen Hettigoda and Praveen Hapugalle who we’re coxed by Avishka Jayaweera. The Royalists put the icing on the cake as they won it by an impressive one and a half boat lengths with a timing of 3.08 minutes sealing an staggering  50-2 point regatta win to retain the T.N. Fernando trophy.

Hashen Hettigoda of Royal college,who racked up an impressive 26 points for his team was adjuded the Most OutstandingOaresman of this years’ regatta.