The 48th annual Royal-Thomian culminated with Royal College completely over powering S Thomas College at the Colombo Rowing Club this evening.

Royal rallied up a points tally of 46 in eleven races winning the coveted Boat race with a timing of 3 minutes and 12 seconds.

 Hashen Hettigoda kicked things off for the Royalist as he bagged the first win of the day for the reigning champions winning the senior scull with a timing of 3 minutes and 40 seconds.

A.J.Wickramanayake responded in the following race as he shifted the momentum towards the Thomians bringing home the junior sculls trophy with a timing of 3 minutes and 40 seconds.

Prathap Perera and Shajal Achmal grabbed the senior pair  by recording a timing of 3 minutes and 12 seconds for Royal College while Lasindu Gamage and Charin Wijethilaka made fair weather of their junior pair race which they managed to complete in 3.21 minutes to consolidate for Royal a good lead.

Royal College captain Hashen Hettigoda together with Gavik Kuruppu renewed their own existing record of the senior double sculls as they beat R. Nithushan and U.K.M Premarathne of S Thomas by 3.28 minutes to 3.34 minutes.

A.J. Wickramanayake of S Thomas was in action once again as he teamed up with D.A. Senanayake to bring home the Junior double sculls title with a timing of 3.21 minutes. D.A.senanayake, U.K.M. Premarthne, J.S. Rajendra, M.M.D.Peiris and A.S Walpola proved no different to their Under 16 fours event as they secured the Capt. Janaka De Fonseka Memorial Trophy with an impressive timing of 3.39 minutes.

Apart from this Royal College again registered victory in the Junior B four race with an excellent timing of 3.18 minutes. The crew comprised Ishara Ramubukwella, Deelaka Mahale, Yumin Perera, Vibhawa Perera and Revaka Karunasundara.

Even though, the senior boat race was remaining, Royal was way of the points tally and assured of victory  in the annual regatta which was assured after the B four race since Royal College recorded their victory in most of the races.

This most prestigious senior boat race was raced by Prathap Perera, Sajad Ajmal, Charin Wijethileke, Hashen Hettigoda and Avishka Jayaweera for the Royalist who put the icing on the cake winning it by an impressive one and half boat lengths with timing of 3.12 minutes sealing a staggering 46-06 point regatta win to retain the T.N. Fernando trophy.

Hashen Hettigoda of Royal College was adjudged the most outstanding oarsman of this years’ regatta.

The exhibition race of the old boys was also won by Royal College.