The annual closing regatta which was the final event in the Colombo Rowing club calendar successfully concluded yesterday at the Colombo rowing club. The teams that participated in this event were Ladies College, Asian International school, Gateway College, St. Joseph’s College, Colombo Rowing club, Ananda College and Royal College.

The winners were picked based on best timings of each event. The regatta comprised of sculls, pairs and four’s events in both men’s and women’s categories. There was strong competition among the teams for the Cyraine cup, President’s trophy, Harry Cxasy Ladies’ plate, Herman Sirimanne, Juluius and Colvin Sirimanne trophies at this regatta.

The men’s under 16 fours event was first up on the regatta and it was a very tight race at the beginning but St. Josephs tookthe lead after a few minutes into it and ended up winners in the men’s fours event. The team comprised of Shenuk Jayaweera, Shaveen Silva, Achintha Wanigasekara, Uvin Perera and Neluka Fernando.

Photos : Closing Regatta

The women’s under 16 fours race was won by Ladies’ College ‘A’ as usual. However, it was one of the exciting and tight races in the women’s category. Ladies’ College crew comprising of Anya Devapura, Anithra Fernando, Avani Amerasinghe, Ayani Perera and Janindri Fernando cruised to the finish line first up.

After a lot of hard work and dedication, the Colombo rowing club was able to win both Under 16 men’s and women’s double sculls events at the regatta. CRC men’s team comprised Roneth Perera and Hashel Melon while Panchalie Hewamanna and Chethya Liyanage rowed for the women’s event.

Ladies College was able to win most of the trophies at the regatta and one of the important things about Ladies’ College is that they maintained a very high competition against other teams in all events therefore able to maintain their unbeaten status. Ashvini Subasinghe and Nihara Waravita won the Cyraine cup while Ishara Abbey won the President’s trophy in the senior women’s sculls. The senior Women’’s fours event was also won by Ladies’ College and the team comprised Ashvini Subasinghe, Nihara Waravita, Davina Koch, Ishara Abbey and Janindri Fernando.

The men’s senior sculls event took pride of place at the regatta and Suhith Alexnder of Ananda College won the race and was awarded the Herman Sirimanne trophy.

In the men’s category most of the trophies were taken home by Royal College. Prathap Perera, Sajaad Ajmal won the VA Juluius trophy while Gavik Kuruppu Hashen Hettigoda won the Colvin Sirimanne Trophy. Royal College emerged thechampions once again in the senior men’s fours event and the team comprised Sajaad Ajmal, Kiaan Ahamed, Charin Wijethilake, Thakeesha Jayarathne and Avishka Jayaweera.