President’s Cup Carrom Championship doubles come to a close


Over three hundred competitors representing all parts of the island participated in the 16th President’s Cup Carrom Championship conducted by the Carrom Federation of Sri Lanka

which comprised of four events; namely Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles and Women’s Doubles. All games were conducted at the Kohuwala Headquarters of the Carrom Federation of Sri Lanka.

Chamil Cooray with Brindly Wickramasinghe recorded an easy win by beating Charith Madushanka & M. Sheriffdeen in 2/0 rounds (25/07, 25/08) in the Men’s Doubles Finals while Chalani Lakmali with Yasika Rahubadda won the Women’s Doubles beating Joseph Rosita & Joseph Dilka convincingly in 2/0 rounds (25/23, 25/10).

D.N. Fernando with Tharanga Kelum won the 3rd place playoff (25/0, 25/08) and Tharushi Himahanshika with Sadini Nirasha won Women’s Doubles 3rd place playoff (15/27, 25/09, 25/21).

The Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles matches will take place during the weekends from the 30th of April to the 29th of May at the Headquarters of the Carrom Federation of Sri Lanka. After the completion of the Finals on the 29th of May, arrangements have been made to award trophies and certificates for the Grand Slam Carrom Championship, National Junior Carrom Championship and the President’s Cup Carrom Championship.