Home Cricket National Cricket Naseem Shah grabs maiden 5-fer to hand SL a 263- run defeat

Naseem Shah grabs maiden 5-fer to hand SL a 263- run defeat

Sri Lanka tour of Pakistan 2019 | 2nd Test – Day 5

Pakistan v Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka lost the 2nd Test in Karachi by 263 runs against Pakistan as the visitors lost 3 wickets without adding any runs on day 05 to their overnight total in their chase of 476 set after a staggering batting effort of 555/3d by the hosts in their 2nd innings. 

>> Sri Lanka v Pakistan 2019 Hub <<

Sri Lanka re-started their chase on day 05 after they were reduced for 212-7 on day 4 by Pakistan seamers who had the luxury of a 476-run target to defend. Day 05 began just like yesterday concluded; with a dismissal as Lasith Embuldeniya failed to avoid nicking Naseem Shah’s nasty bouncer which ended up in the hands of wicket keeper Mohommad Rizwan.

Opener Oshada Fernando who was the only Sri Lankan to dominate the hosts’ seamers, had to conclude his long vigil after he tried to be cheeky with Yasir Shah when his dab to third man went to Asad Shafiq who gleefully accepted the kookaburra at first slip.

Oshada became only the second centurion of the tour from Sri Lanka after Dhananjaya de Silva and has been one of the rare positives from this tour as he grabbed the opportunity from both hands at the top of the order as an opener.

16-year-old Naseem Shah completed his 5-fer as he didn’t waste any time trapping Vishwa Fernando dead in front of the wicket, confirming the huge win for Pakistan as if to announce thatTest Cricket vibes had truly returned to Pakistan after their 10-year long wait.

Pakistan opener Abid Ali was nominated as the Player of the Match and Tournament for two centuries in two matches.

With this win, Pakistan climbed to 3rd position in the ICC Test Championship points table with 80 points while Sri Lanka (80 points) have dropped down to 4th, due to the lower runs per wickets ratio.

Sri Lanka’s next international assignment will be in January, against mighty India in their own back yard in a 3-match T20I series while Pakistan will take on Bangladesh in a Test and T20I series.


Sri Lanka
271/10 (85.5) & 212/10 (62.5)
191/10 (59.3) & 555/3 (131)
Shan Masood b Vishwa Fernando5151033.33
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara38667157.58
Azhar Ali b Vishwa Fernando02000.00
Babar Azam st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya60968162.50
Asad Shafiq c Vishwa Fernando b Lahiru Kumara631266050.00
Haris Sohail lbw b Lasith Embuldeniya9300130.00
Mohammad Rizwan b Lahiru Kumara4210200.00
Yasir Shah lbw b Lahiru Kumara01000.00
Mohammad Abbas c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya09000.00
Shaheen Shah Afridi c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya591055.56
Naseem Shah not out1100100.00
Extras6 (b 4 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total191/10 (59.3 Overs, RR: 3.21)
Fall of Wickets 1-10 (6.1) Shan Masood, 2-10 (6.3) Azhar Ali, 3-65 (20.3) Abid Ali, 4-127 (39.5) Babar Azam, 5-167 (51.5) Haris Sohail, 6-172 (52.2) Mohammad Rizwan, 7-172 (52.3) Yasir Shah, 8-179 (55.5) Mohammad Abbas, 9-185 (58.1) Asad Shafiq, 10-191 (59.3) Shaheen Shah Afridi,
Vishwa Fernando1333122.38
Lahiru Kumara1854942.72
Dimuth Karunaratne1011011.00
Lasith Embuldeniya20.337143.50
Dilruwan Perera702303.29
Oshada Fernando c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi4190021.05
Dimuth Karunaratne b Mohammad Abbas25424059.52
Kusal Mendis c Haris Sohail b Mohammad Abbas13271048.15
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi13441029.55
Lasith Embuldeniya c Asad Shafiq b Mohammad Abbas13341038.24
Dinesh Chandimal c Shan Masood b Haris Sohail7414310051.75
Dhananjaya de Silva c Mohammad Abbas b Shaheen Shah Afridi32562157.14
Niroshan Dickwella b Mohammad Abbas21353060.00
Dilruwan Perera lbw b Shaheen Shah Afridi48846157.14
Vishwa Fernando not out5320015.62
Lahiru Kumara b Shaheen Shah Afridi02000.00
Extras23 (b 4 , lb 10 , nb 3, w 6, pen 0)
Total271/10 (85.5 Overs, RR: 3.16)
Fall of Wickets 1-28 (6.2) Oshada Fernando, 2-39 (12.2) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-61 (16.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-78 (26.3) Lasith Embuldeniya, 5-80 (29.1) Angelo Mathews, 6-147 (47.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 7-184 (58.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 8-235 (72.5) Dinesh Chandimal, 9-271 (85.3) Dilruwan Perera, 10-271 (85.5) Lahiru Kumara,
Shaheen Shah Afridi26.557752.91
Mohammad Abbas2795542.04
Naseem Shah1617104.44
Yasir Shah1304303.31
Haris Sohail301113.67
Shan Masood c Oshada Fernando b Lahiru Kumara1351987368.18
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara17428121161.92
Azhar Ali st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya11815713075.16
Babar Azam not out1001318176.34
Mohammad Rizwan not out211920110.53
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 0, w 2, pen 0)
Total555/3 (131 Overs, RR: 4.24)
Fall of Wickets 1-278 (68.3) Shan Masood, 2-355 (90.1) Abid Ali, 3-503 (123.1) Azhar Ali,
Vishwa Fernando24210504.38
Lahiru Kumara29513924.79
Lasith Embuldeniya50419313.86
Dilruwan Perera2119404.48
Dhananjaya de Silva701902.71

Dimuth Karunaratne c Mohammad Rizwan b Mohammad Abbas16282057.14
Oshada Fernando c Asad Shafiq b Yasir Shah10218013056.67
Kusal Mendis c Babar Azam b Naseem Shah04000.00
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi19331057.58
Dinesh Chandimal lbw b Naseem Shah229006.90
Dhananjaya de Silva b Yasir Shah08000.00
Niroshan Dickwella b Haris Sohail657611085.53
Dilruwan Perera c Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah581062.50
Lasith Embuldeniya c Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah01000.00
Vishwa Fernando b Naseem Shah09000.00
Lahiru Kumara not out01000.00
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total212/10 (62.5 Overs, RR: 3.37)
Fall of Wickets 1-39 (9.4) Dimuth Karunaratne, 2-40 (10.3) Kusal Mendis, 3-70 (20.4) Angelo Mathews, 4-96 (30.1) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-97 (31.5) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-201 (57.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-212 (60.1) Dilruwan Perera, 8-212 (60.2) Lasith Embuldeniya, 9-212 (61.5) Oshada Fernando, 10-212 (62.5) Vishwa Fernando,
Shaheen Shah Afridi1435113.64
Mohammad Abbas1223312.75
Naseem Shah12.543152.48
Yasir Shah2038424.20
Haris Sohail401012.50

>> More cricket news <<