Navy SC ran in 13 tries against CH & FC who is still winless this season suffering their 11th consecutive defeat .Navy coming to this game after suffering a big loss at Nittawala last week was determined to make a big statement showing that they have still not given up on the title race. The sailors comprehensively defeated CH & FC 81-23 this evening at Longdon Place.

Thilina Weerasinghe kicked off for Navy and CH straight away knocked on the ball which Thilina kicked and from the scrum Navy just had to spread the ball wide to Chanaka Chandimal to open scoring.. Thilina Weerasinghe converted this try and then it was the turn for the Navy flanker Nivanka Prasad to score for the sailors and this try too was converted by Weerasinghe. (CH 00 – 14 Navy)

Photos: CH&FC v Navy SC – Dialog Rugby League 2016/17 | #Match 43

Photos of the CH&FC v Navy SC – Dialog Rugby League 2016/17 | #Match 43

CH was feeling the pressure from the outset and they slowly got in to the game with a penalty which Vishwa Denith obliged with a perfect kick. Navy conceded the penalty for collapsing the CH maul and on the other side of the pitch Navy launched a rolling maul which brought success to the sailors as Dulanjana Wijesinghe touched down their third try of the game. Weerasinghe added the extra points. (CH 03 – 21 Navy)

CH wanted to put more points on board and when they received a penalty in a kickable distance they opted to go for the three points this was their plan which they showed during the game as Vishwa Denith added 3 points for CH. The Navy centre Lahiru Herath was next to score for the sailors and soon after Hearth’s try their winger Supun Dilshan put his name on the try scorers list as he showed his speed and skill which CH couldn’t match . Weerasinghe converted the previous try but couldn’t convert this try. (CH 06 – 33  Navy)

The solitary try scored by CH came from Akash Iddawala as he powered through the Navy defence which was very slow as their only intension was attacking forward. CH added three more points through a penalty and afterwards it was Navy who finished the first half on high with tries coming from Chanka Chandimal and Dulanjana Wijesinghe .Weerasinghe converted only one from the two tries. (CH 14 – 45 Navy)

Half Time: CH&FC 14 – 45 Navy SC

Navy got an early blow as their no 08 Chathura Dilshan was sent to the naughty chair by the referee for a high tackle. CH increased their points tally by three points through Dineth. Chanaka Chandimal completed his hat-trick of tries when he scored under the post and it was converted by Weerasinghe. The try of the game came when CH was on the attack when they knocked on near their try line and Navy spread the ball nicely towards their winger Dinusha Chathuranga and he ran from his own try line to score for Navy .Dinusha made another superb run in the corner for his second try of the game. (CH 17 – 64 Navy)

CH full back had a good game with his boot as he kicked two more penalties and increased their tally to 23 points .Navy lost another player for 10 minutes when Adeesha Weerathunga received a yellow card. Thilina Weerasinghe who was converting tries which his team mates scored this time scored for Navy himself as a set move worked perfectly for him. (CH 23 – 69 Navy)

During the last stages of the match Dinusha Chathuranga scored another two tries for the sailors and his second try came from a brilliant run by Dulanjana Wijesinghe as he ran more than 40 m and offloaded the ball to Chathuraga who finished the move by scoring for the sailors. (CH 23 – 81 Navy)

Full Time: CH&FC 23 – 81 Navy SC Player of the match – Dinusha Chathuranga (Navy SC)

Post-match, Dinusha shared his view on the game and his performance

“I am very happy about the performance from the boys today. I couldn’t play the last few matches cause of an injury and now I have recovered from it so I am very happy that I got a chance to play and score four tries for my team.

The score breakdown

CH & FC (14) 23
Try – Akash Iddawala
Penalties – Vishwa Denith (6)

Navy Sports Club (45) 81
Tries – Dinusha Chathuranga (4), Chanaka Chandimal (3), Dulanjana Wijesinghe (2), Nivanka Prasad, Lahiru Herath, Supun Dilshan, Thilina Weerasinghe
Conversions – Thilina Weerasinghe (8)