Lahiru Milantha ton puts Tamil Union in control

SLC Premier League


Five matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League continued around the island today(15).

Colts vs SSC

A four wicket haul from the young mystery spin bowler Mahesh Theekshana had SSC on the rocks in their encounter against Colts.

Earlier in the day, a 7 wicket haul from Sachitra Senanayake restricted Colts to 365 all-out with Priyamal Perera making a half century.

Most SSC batsmen got starts but could not kick on before Chamara Kapugedara looked in fine nick remaining unbeaten on 57*.

Read : Sangeeth and Dumindu put Colts in control

Theekshana known for his variation troubled a strong SSC batting line as he captured 4 of the 6 wickets to fall as SSC ended the day on 223/6.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club365 (108.1)Sangeeth Cooray 119, Hashan Dumindu 119, Priyamal Perera 51, Kavishka Anjula 34, Sachithra Senanayaka 7/88, Tahrindu Rathnayaka 3/99
Sinhalese Sports Club223/6 (62) Kaushal Silva 45, Krishan Sanjula 22, Kavindu Kulasekara 43, Chamara Kapugedara 57*, Sachithra Senanayaka 25*, Mahesh Theekshana 4/54

Army vs Tamil Union

A breathtaking opening stand of 193 runs between Sithara Gimhan and Lahiru Milantha put Tamil Union in the driving seat when stumps were drawn on day two.

Army SC were bowled out for 386 in the opening session with Milantha – more known for his wicket keeping – capturing 4/33 with his right arm off spin.

Gimhan fell for 93 late in the day as he was soon followed by Milantha who completed a fine century as Tamil Union ended the day on 209/2.

Army Cricket Club386 (128) Sanjika Ridma 64, Yasoda Mendis 55, Ashan Randika 53, Dushan Vimukthi 50, Dilshan de Soyza 51, Lakshitha Madusha 36, Sachithra Serasinghe 2/65, Lahiru Milantha 4/33, Sadeesh Pathiranage 2/75
Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club209/2 (50) Sithara Gimahan 93, Lahiru Milantha 103, Lakshan Madushanka 2/54

NCC vs Chilaw Marians

NCC batted themselves into a commanding position after a fine spell of left arm seam bowling restricted Chilaw Marians to 193 all-out.

The fast improving Dilesh Gunaratne was the star with the ball as he picked up 5/52 while Sachintha Peiris and Chathuranga de Silva chipped in with two wickets apiece.

NCC stretched their lead to 245 at close with Lahiru Udara hitting his second half century of the match.

Nondescripts Cricket Club321 (86.4) Pathum Nissanka 74, Lahiru Udrara 66, Chaturanga de Silva 48, Sachintha Pieris 29, Sagar Paresh 4/74, HRC Dilshan 4/88  & 117/2 (22) Lahiru Udara 78*, Pathum Nissanka 27, HRC Dilshan 2/42
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club193 (55) Harsha Cooray 48, Nisal Francisco 28, Oshada Fernando 26, Dilesh Gunarathne 5/52, Chaturanga de Silva 2/53, Sachintha Pieris 2/26

CCC vs Negombo CC

Negombo CC made a bold reply of 160/3 thanks to a patient knock of an unbeaten 80* by Ashen Silva.

Photos: NCC v Chilaw MCC | Major League Tier “A” Tournament 2018/2019

Roshen Fernando’s 4 wicket haul restricted CCC to 383 earlier in the day before wicket keeper batsman Dilasri Lokubandara also chipped in with a half century for Negombo.

Sri Lanka fast bowler Lahiru Gamage captured 2/18 for CCC in an otherwise poor effort with the ball.

Colombo Cricket Club383 (100.3) Minod Bhanuka 88, Lahiru Madushanka 72, Ashan Priyanjan 53, Ron Chandraguptha 45, Manelker de Silva 33, Roshen Fernando 4/66, Nilanka Sandakan 3/66
Negombo Cricket Club160/3 (70) Dilasiri Lokubandara 54, Ashen Silva 80*, Lahiru Gamage 2/18

Moors SC vs  Ragama CC

Supeshala Jayathilake finally found form with a whirlwind century which included 11 fours and 6 sixes as Ragama CC went ahead on first innings in their encounter against Moors SC.

Ishan Jayaratne’s unbeaten 52* held the innings together after Jayathilaka’s dismisaal as Ragama CC ended the day on 338/6.

Malith De Silva was the only bowler to make an impression for Moors capturing 2 wickets with his left arm spin.

Moors Sports Club337 (84.2) Charitha Kumarasinghe 103, Irosh Samarasooriya 60, Adeesha Thilanchana 40, Shiran Fernando 40, Amila Aponso 3/117, Ishan jayarathne 2/54, Mohamad Ali 2/73, Kalhara Senarathne 2/49
Ragama Cricket Club338/6 (90) Dineth Thimodya 45, Saminda Fernando 42, Supeshala Jayathilaka 114, Akshu Fernando 35, Ishan Jayarathne 52*, Malith de Silva 2/108