19-year old right-arm fast-bowler Lahiru Kumara bowled Textured Jersey to their maiden win in the 24th Singer-MCA Premier League as all 8 teams were in action today (14th Septemer) in Colombo and its suburbs.

HNB vs Textured Jersey

Former Trinitian and Sri Lanka U19 seamer, Lahiru Kumara grabbed 5 for 38 as Textured Jersey handed a 122-run thrashing to Hatton National Bank in their game played at FTZ grounds in Katunayake.

After being sent into bat first, Textured Jersey posted a mammoth 278 for 9 in their 50 overs. Sri Lanka ‘A’ wicket-keeper batsman Minod Bhanuka top-scored for the winning team with a fluent 108-ball 88 which included 8 fours. Sri Lanka U19 skipper Charith Asalanka made a stylish 51 while Nilushan Nonis and Chalana De Silva chipped in with useful contributions.

Left-arm seamer Vimukthi Perera captured four wickets while off-spinner Buddhi Perera snapped up two scalps for HNB. Chasing 279 runs to win, the Bankers were rattled to 56 for 6 at one stage as Kumara ripped through the HNB batting lineup. Sachin Jayawardana and Yohan Perera made 33 and 32 respectively as HNB were bowled out for 156.

Textured Jersey – 278/9 in 50 overs: Minod Bhanuka 88, Charith Asalanka 51, Nilushan Nonis 25, Chalana De Silva 25, Vimukthi Perera 4/55, Buddhi Perera 2/49.

HNB – 156 all out in 31.3 overs: Sachin Jayawardana 33, Yohan Perera 32, Vimukthi Perera 28, Lahiru Kumara 5/38, Chalana De Silva 2/28.

Sampath Bank vs Commercial Credit

Sampath Bank registered their second win when they defeated Commercial Credit PLC by 47 runs in their game worked out at P. Sara Oval grounds.

Sampath Bank skipper Jeewan Mendis won the toss and elected to bat first. One-drop batsman and Sri Lanka Test opener, Kaushal Silva played the anchor role with an 80-ball 66 as Sampath Bank reached 256 for 9 in their 50 overs. Primosh Perera and Chamika Karunarathne made 35 and 34 respectively while three bowlers captured 2 wickets apiece.

Commercial Credit target of 257 was brought to life by their skipper Upul Tharanga who clobbered 8 fours and 2 sixes during his blitzkrieg 35-ball 62 but the seam bowling duo of Chamika Karunarathne and Kasun Rajitha shared 7 wickets to disrupt the chase.

Sampath Bank – 256/9 in 50 overs: Kaushal Silva 66, Primosh Perera 35, Chamika Karunarathne 34*, Ashan Priyanjan 2/14, Chathuranga De Silva 2/54, Lahiru Gamage 2/77.

Commercial Credit – 209 all out in 42 overs: Upul Tharanga 62, Ashan Priyanjan 40, Lahiru Madusanka 38, Chamika Karunarathne 4/29, Jeewan Mendis 2/44, Kasun Rajitha 3/50.

John Keells vs Dimo

Dimo suffered their second defeat as John Keells ‘A’ recorded a convincing 54-run victory at MCA grounds.

After electing to take the first lease, skipper Bhanuka Rajapaksa slammed a stunning 54-ball 90 with 9 fours and 6 sixes while former Peterite Akshu Fernando made an unbeaten 36-ball 50 as they steered John Keells to a superb score of 335.

In reply, Dimo was bowled out for 281 with 37 balls to spare. Nisala Tharaka top scored with a fine knock of 61 while Lasith Abeyrathne and Thikshila De Silva made scores of 48 and 45 respectively. Ishan Jayarathne was the pick of the bowlers taking 3 for 46.

John Keells – 335/9 in 50 overs: Bhanuka Rajapakse 90, Akshu Fernando 50*, Lahiru Milantha 44, Janaka Gunarathne 38, Matheesha Perera 2/39,

Dimo – 281 all out in 43.5 overs: Nisala Tharaka 61, Lasith Abeyrathne 48, Thikshila De Silva 45, Upul Indrasiri 2/66, Ishan Jayarathne 3/46, Vikum Bandara 2/22.

MAS Unichela vs MAS Active

In a clash of titans, MAS Unichela came out as winners beating the defending champions, MAS Active by 10 runs in an evenly-contested at NCC grounds.

Jehan Mubarak won the toss and invited MAS Unichela to bat first. Opening batsman Danushka Gunathilake made a cracking 111-ball 90 with 7 fours and a six to lay the perfect foundation for the rest of the senior players, Farveez Maharoof and Chamara Silva to score half-tons and post a mammoth 318 on the board. Experienced seamer Dilhara Fernando captured 4 wickets.

Chasing 319 runs to win, MAS Active innings was guided by the fifties came off Mubarak and Dhananjaya De Silva but Unichela held their nerve to defend their score. Malinga Bandara and Dilruwan Perera picked up 3 wickets apiece.

MAS Unichela – 318/9 in 50 overs: Danushka Gunathilake 90, Farveez Maharoof 74, Chamara Silva 60, Dilruwan Perera 34, Dilhara Fernando 4/68.

MAS Active – 308 all out in 48.5 overs: Dilshan Munaweera 45, Dhananjaya De Silva 58, TM Sampath 34, Udara Jayasundara 38, Jehan Mubarak 52, Sachith Pathirana 41, Farveez Maharoof 3/74, Dilruwan Perera 3/57, Malinga Bandara 3/53.