Kayla Perera fired a magnificent 2 under par Gross score in the qualifying round of the Junior Girls Silver Division, to return the day’s best score among all participants, including the Gold Division Boys and Girls. Kayla thoroughly earned the Top Seed status in the Junior Girls Golf Championship where the Gold and Silver players are combined to determine the Junior Girls Champion

In the Match Play segment Kayla Perera and Taniya Minel, who are currently seeded as the number 1 and 2 in the rankings, received byes in to the semi-finals.

Dhaliya Helshiba Herath of Victoria Golf Club, Digana, beat Arika Wickramasinghe to book her semi-final spot with Kayla Perera while Sherine Balasuriya drew her sister and top seed Taniya Balasuriya marking the first time in the tournament where two sisters will meet to tee off.

In the Boys Gold Division Dilshan Malinda’s 79, earned him the Top Seed Rank 1 even though the scores were below par in this particular tournament, defeating Himal Randima to reach the semi-finals. Dhuwarshan from Nuwara Eliya Golf Club 81 and Vinod Weerasinghe 82 resepectively earned themselves the second and the third spot.

S.D. S Dilshan beat W Yohan Rukman and will meet Dilshan in the 1st semi-final of the Boys Junior Championship. Vinod Weerasinghe cruised to victory against Dimuthu to meet S. Dhuwarshan in the 2nd semi- final after Dhuwarshan comfortably beat Leon Perera.

The Boy’s Silver Division seems closely contested with Nirekh Tejwani and K Danushan. Tejwani beat Chethana Perera to meet 2017 Bronze division winner Yannik Kumara who had earlier defeated Haroon Aslam in the morning session of play. Meanwhile Danushan beat Abinav Basha on the 19th hole to meet S D M Hirushan in the second semi-final.

Kaya Daluwatte top seeded reaching the semi-final defeating Kanindra Samarasekera whilst Khavan Tejwani beat Shenuk Fernando. Thejas Rathis Kanth, probably created a minor upset, when he beat the more fancied Kian Kiyarepola to meet Dharaniyan in the second semi-final.

The tournament will continue further and the finals will be worked-off on Thursday 05th April 2018.