Ishan, Gayan and Kalhara feature in the Pune Invitational Supercross


    Three Sri Lankan riders are set to feature in the 5th Pune Invitational Supercross League which will be held in Royal Palms, Mundhwa, Pune spanning across three days from the 17th to 19th November 2017.

    This competition was last held in Pune in 2014 and makes a much-awaited return with a new league format where riders will be part of 8 teams. It is the first of its kind, a franchise based league competition in the world and is expected to provide three days of thrilling racing action.

    The 8 teams will feature 53 Indian riders and 11 international riders. Three leading Sri Lankan riders, National Champion Ishan Dassanayake, former National Champion Gayan Sandarun and one of the brightest prospects of the country, Dilitha Devraj Kalhara will feature in the competition and will no doubt cherish the opportunity to be a part of the novel competition that will provide them with much needed international exposure.

    The new format of the competition will see the riders compete in a total of six Motos over the span of three days and will accumulate points based on their performance at the end of each Moto with the team with the highest points tally becoming the winner. SX-1 and SX- 2 will see international motorcycles up to 500cc. SX- 3 segment will be open for Indian motorcycles up to 260cc. In the Junior competition SX J category will be for Indian riders Under 15 years up to 250cc bikes and SX class for international riders on foreign motorcycles up to 500cc bikes.

    Gayan Sandaruwan and Dilitha Kalhara have been drafted to ‘Team Greeshm’ where they will compete alongside Javed Shaikh, Vishal Sanghra, Sachin Ghorpad, Rajendra RE, Kerim Fitz Gerald in the tourney.

    Ishan Dassanayake is set to compete under the ‘PB Racing’ banner alongside Karan Karle, Sarath Mohan, Prince Maninder, Venkatesh Shetty, Naresh VS, Anthony Raynard.