India U19s kick-start ODIs with easy win

India U19 tour of Sri Lanka – 1st Youth ODI


The visiting India U19 team emerged victorious in the 1st of 5 Youth ODIs against hosts Sri Lanka U19 today at the P. Sara Oval Stadium in Colombo. The visitors, who batted second, chased down the required target with 6 wickets and 12.5 in hand.

Both teams played XIs with few changes to their 4-Day teams. Aryan Juyal who was the vice-Captain in the longer version was appointed Captain in the limited overs leg. Sri Lanka U19 was led by Nipun Dananjaya who also led the team in the 4-Dayers.

Sri Lanka U19 squad for India ODIs announced

Sri Lanka U19:

Navod Paranavithana, Nishan Madushka (wk), Nipun Dananjaya (c), Nuwanidu Fernando, Pasindu Sooriyabandara, Dunith Wellalage, Sandun Mendis, Lakshitha Manasinghe, Nipun Malinga, Naveen Fernando, Aviksha Lakshan.

India U19:

Pavan Shah, Anuj Rawat, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aryan Juyal (c & wk), Sameer Chaudhary, Atharva Taide, Ayush Badoni, Ajaydev Goud, Yatin Mangwani, Siddharth Desai, Mohit Jangra

Nipun Dananjaya, after winning the toss, elected to bat first on a batting friendly track.

Dananjaya batted with exemplary temperament as the rest of the batsmen kept losing their wickets on the other end. Opening batsman Navod Paranavithana and No.6 batter, 15-year old Dunith Wellalage were the only other top 7 batsmen who lasted more than 10 deliveries. Dananjaya too perished on 33, edging a beautiful delivery by Ajaydev Goud.

Interestingly the Lankan tail displayed a brilliant act of rescue as they guided the score from 84/7 to 143, adding almost 60 invaluable runs for the last 3 wickets. Pacer Nipun Malinga scored 38 off 39 balls with 2 sixes to end up as the top-scorer of the innings. Fellow pacer Naveen Fernando also chipped in with a useful 10 runs.

India complete 2-0 series win

Ajaydev Goud was the chief destroyer of the Lankan innings as he took 3 wickets for 18 runs in just 6.4 overs. Mohit Jangra and Yatin Mangwani also contributed with 2 wickets each while spin-bowling all-rounder Ayush Badoni took another 2 wickets.

In reply the Indians played risk-free cricket as they had to chase to down just 144. Although the home bowlers were economical it really wasn’t an issue for the Indians as they smoothly reached the required target losing just 4 wickets.

Anuj Rawat, who led the Indians in the 4-Day leg, scored 50 off 85 deliveries with 5 boundaries. Sameer Chaudhary remained unbeaten on 31 with 3 fours and a six along with Atharva Taide when the visitors went past the Lankan total.

Off-spinner Lakshitha Manasinghe picked up 2 wickets while spinners Aviksha Lakshan and Sandun Mendis picked up a wicket each.

The 2 teams will meet once again in the 2nd ODI on the 2nd of August at the Sinhalese Sports Club Stadium Colombo.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka U19


(38.4 overs)


India U19


(37.1 overs)

Ind U19 won by 6 wickets

Sri Lanka U19’s Innings

Navod Paranavitana b M.Jangra1524
Nishan Madushka c A.Juyal b M.Jangra02
Nipun Dananjaya c A.Juyal b A.Goud3345
Nuwanindu Fernando c A.Juyal b Y.Mangwani66
Pasindu Sooriyabandara b Y.Mangwani47
Dunnith Wellalage c A.Taide b A.Badoni1347
Sandun Mendis c P.Shah b S.Desai49
Lakshitha Manasinghe st A.Juyal b A.Badoni925
Nipun Malinga b A.Goud3839
Naveen Fernando c A.Taide b A.Goud1024
Avishka Lakshan not out15
10 (lb 6, nb 1, w 3)
143/10 (38.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-16 (N Madushka, 2.1 ov), 2-29 (N Paranavithana, 6.5 ov), 3-42 (N Fernando, 9.5 ov), 4-49 (P Sooriyabandara, 11.2 ov), 5-68 (Nipun Dananjaya, 16.2 ov), 6-76 (S Mendis, 20.4 ov), 7-84 (D Wellalage, 23.5 ov), 8-99 (L Manasinghe, 29.3 ov), 9-137 (N Fernando, 36.5 ov), 10-143 (N Malinga, 38.4 ov)
Mohit Jangra71142 2.00
Yatin Mangwani71352 5.00
Ajay Dev Goud6.42183 2.81
Ayush Badoni90372 4.11
Siddarth Desai81251 3.13
Sameer Choudary1080 8.00

India U19’s Innings

Pawan Shah st N.Madushka b L.Manasinghe1217
Anuj Rawat b S.Mendis5085
Yashasvi Jaiswal c A.Lakshan b L.Manasinghe1537
Aryan Juyal c N.Fernando b A.Lakshan2033
Sameer Choudhary not out2534
Atharva Taide not out917
7 (nb 2, w 5)
144/4 (37.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-25 (P Shah, 4.4 ov), 2-54 (Y Jaiswal, 14.3 ov), 3-93 (A Juyal, 25.2 ov), 4-113 (A Rawat, 30.3 ov)
Nipun Malinga20150 7.50
Naveen Fernando61200 3.33
Lakshitha Manasinghe90322 3.56
Avishka Lakshan8.10401 4.94
Dunith Wellalage80220 2.75
Sandun Mendis41151 3.75