Home Cricket Dickwella slams a ton as Sri Lanka ‘A’ level series

Dickwella slams a ton as Sri Lanka ‘A’ level series

Sri Lanka A Tour of India 2019 – 5th Unofficial ODI


Sri Lanka A registered a comprehensive 7-wicket victory over the hosts India A in the fifth and final unofficial ODI between the two sides which concluded today at Hubli Cricket Stadium in India. The left-handed Niroshan Dickwella’s magnificent century with the bat helped the visitors square the 5-match unofficial ODI series 2-2.

Sri Lanka A skipper Ashan Priyanjan won the toss and invited the hosts to take the first lease of the wicket. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Prashant Chopra opened the innings for India A but added only 25 runs for the 2st wicket as the latter was dismissed by the in-form pace bowler Chamika Karunarathne in the 5th over.

Gaikwad built two 50 plus partnerships with Anmolpreet Singh and Ricky Bhui for the 2nd and 3rd wickets respectively and top scored for the hosts with a knock of 74 runs off 73 balls. His innings included 8 fours and came at a strike rate of 101.37.

Read: Sri Lanka’s hopes of series-win slashed by rain

Ricky Bhui (38) and Deepak Hooda (37) chipped in with useful contributions with the bat as India A was bowled out for 259 runs in the allotted 50 overs. Off spinner Akila Dananjaya picked up 3 wickets for 51 runs while the skipper Ashan Priyanjan grabbed 2 scalps for 23 runs for the visitors.

Chasing 260 runs to win, the Sri Lankan opening pair Niroshan Dickwella and Sangeeth Cooray got off to a flying start as they built a massive 165-run partnership for the first wicket in 26.3 overs. Dickwella made a 111 off 93 balls at a strike rate of 119.35 with 12 fours and 3 sixes. Cooray stroked 61 runs off 74 balls at a strike rate of 82.43 including 7 fours.

After being 165 for no wicket, the visitors lost 3 quick wickets for just 20 runs but the in-form batsman Shehan Jayasuriya and skipper Ashan Priyanjan guided them to the victory without any further hiccups. They built an unbeaten 75-run partnership for the 4th wicket as Jayasuriya made 45 runs off 55 balls with a four and a six while Priyanjan made 33 runs off 51 balls including 3 fours.

The leg spinner Shreyas Gopal was the pick of the bowlers for India A as he picked up all three wickets to fall in the Sri Lankan innings.

Stay logged onto ThePapare.com to get the latest updates, scores, reports and photos on all school, domestic and international cricket.


Sri Lanka A Team
260/3 (47.4)
India A Team
259/10 (50)
Ruturaj Gaikwad lbw b Shehan Jayasuriya747380101.37
Prashant Chopra b Chamika Karunaratne12163075.00
Anmolpreet Singh c Lakshan Sandakan b Ishan Jayaratne29332187.88
Ricky Bhui c Ashan Priyanjan b Lakshan Sandakan38483179.17
Deepak Hooda c Ashan Priyanjan b Akila Dananjaya37442184.09
Ishan Kishan c Ashan Priyanjan b Akila Dananjaya20351057.14
Washington Sundar c Sangeeth Cooray b Ashan Priyanjan15260057.69
Shreyas Gopal b Akila Dananjaya7120058.33
Mayank Markande run out (Lakshan Sandakan)231202191.67
Tushar Deshpande not out00000.00
Sandeep Warrier b Ashan Priyanjan01000.00
Extras4 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 4, pen 0)
Total259/10 (50 Overs, RR: 5.18)
Fall of Wickets 1-25 (4.5) Prashant Chopra, 2-84 (15.2) Anmolpreet Singh, 3-144 (26.6) Ruturaj Gaikwad, 4-171 (31.6) Ricky Bhui, 5-211 (40.6) Deepak Hooda, 6-215 (42.1) Ishan Kishan, 7-231 (46.5) Shreyas Gopal, 8-246 (49.2) Washington Sundar, 9-259 (49.5) Mayank Markande, 10-259 (49.6) Sandeep Warrier,
Chamika Karunaratne501913.80
Lahiru Kumara603305.50
Dasun Shanaka10707.00
Ishan Jayaratne503517.00
Akila Dananjaya1005135.10
Lakshan Sandakan1005215.20
Shehan Jayasuriya1003913.90
Ashan Priyanjan302327.67

Niroshan Dickwella st Ishan Kishan b Shreyas Gopal11193123119.35
Sangeeth Cooray st Ishan Kishan b Shreyas Gopal61747082.43
Bhanuka Rajapaksa lbw b Shreyas Gopal7131053.85
Shehan Jayasuriya not out45551181.82
Ashan Priyanjan not out33513064.71
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 3, pen 0)
Total260/3 (47.4 Overs, RR: 5.45)
Fall of Wickets 1-165 (26.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 2-176 (28.6) Sangeeth Cooray, 3-185 (30.5) Bhanuka Rajapaksa,
Washington Sundar1004704.70
Sandeep Warrier403208.00
Deepak Hooda803404.25
Tushar Deshpande3.4034010.00
Mayank Markande1005505.50
Shreyas Gopal1004934.90
Prashant Chopra20904.50