Home Cricket Sri Lanka’s hopes of series-win slashed by rain

Sri Lanka’s hopes of series-win slashed by rain


Sri Lanka ‘A’ was given a target of 209 runs in 24 overs, but rain intervened once again and their 4th unofficial ODI against ‘India ‘A’ was called off at the Nehru Stadium, Hubli on Thursday. 

Sri Lanka ‘A’ skipper Ashan Priyanjan won the toss and elected to field first. The hosts got off to another solid start with the openers. Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad added 56 for the first wicket. Gill was the first to fall for a brisk 19.

Even though the visitors found the break, they couldn’t capitalize on it as one down batsman Anmolpreet Singh and Gaikwad put together a blistering partnership for the 2nd wicket. 

Both went all guns blazing and the Lankan seam attack was taken to the cleaners. The pair added 125 runs off just 70 balls. Gaikwad was dismissed for 84 off just 59 deliveries and he was shortly followed by Indian ‘A’ skipper Ishan Kishan, who fell in the very next ball to the bowling of Lahiru Kumara. 

Read: Karunaratne and batsmen guide Sri Lanka ‘A’ to first win

However, Singh managed to continue the onslaught and his unbeaten 85 off 46 guided the hosts to a mammoth 208 total off their 22 overs. The Lankans were given a target of 209 runs to get from 24 overs according to the D/L method.

Their start was not ideal as Niroshan Dickwella was dismissed for 8 in the first over itself. However, the play lasted only 1.5 overs in the run chase as the heavens opened up and washed off the day. 

India ‘A’ still lead the 5-match series 2 games to 1 with one game remaining.


Sri Lanka A Team
10/1 (1)
India A Team
208/4 (22)
Shubman Gill b Lakshan Sandakan19211290.48
Ruturaj Gaikwad b Lahiru Kumara845934142.37
Anmolpreet Singh not out8546102184.78
Ishan Kishan b Lahiru Kumara01000.00
Deepak Hooda c Bhanuka Rajapaksa b Chamika Karunaratne11501220.00
Prashant Chopra not out6101600.00
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 2, pen 0)
Total208/4 (22 Overs, RR: 9.45)
Fall of Wickets 1-56 (7.3) Shubman Gill, 2-181 (20.1) Ruturaj Gaikwad, 3-190 (20.5) Ishan Kishan, 4-201 (21.4) Deepak Hooda,
Ishan Jayaratne504909.80
Lahiru Kumara403428.50
Chamika Karunaratne5057111.40
Lakshan Sandakan403619.00
Akila Dananjaya403208.00

Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Washington Sundar8510160.00
Sadeera Samarawickrama not out2200100.00
Bhanuka Rajapaksa not out04000.00
Extras0 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total10/1 (1 Overs, RR: 10)
Fall of Wickets 1-9 (0.6) Niroshan Dickwella,
Washington Sundar10919.00
Sandeep Warrier0.50102.00