Colombo’s domination ended by Kelaniya

Sri Lanka University Games 2019


The 13th Sri Lanka University Games (SLUG) Tennis tournament was held for the third consecutive day yesterday at the Gymkhana Tennis Court, Colombo. The tournament kicked off on the 17th of August with the group stage matches played in both the Men’s and the Women’s categories.

The Men’s category was dominated by the Colombo University team; they beat the defending champions Moratuwa University on their road to victory. The Women’s category however took a more absorbing turn of events from day 01 with the dominant University of Colombo being upstaged by the University of Kelaniya.

The tournament started with the respective universities being divided into 2 groups.

Group AGroup B

In the men’s Category, Colombo and Moratuwa topped their groups, finishing undefeated in the group stage, while Jayawardenapura and Kelaniya qualified to the semi-finals after finishing as runners up of their respective groups.

The two semi finals were battled out between the Colombo and Kelaniya teams in semifinal 1, while Moratuwa and Jayawardenapura clashed in the second semifinal. Colombo and Jayawardenapura progressed to the finals as the losers played the consolation final. Colombo won the final encounter 3-0.

Also Read:

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D

Colombo, Jayawardenapura, Kelaniya and Moratuwa topped the women’s groups winning all their games while Eastern, Peradeniya, Sabaragamuwa and Ruhuna qualified for the quarters by finishing as runners up in their respective groups. The knockout stage saw Moratuwa taking on the Peradeniya team in the first quarter final which Moratuwa won 3-0. The remaining three quarter finals were won by Kelaniya, Jayawardenapura and Colombo, defeating Eastern, Ruhuna and Sabaragamuwa respectively.

Kelaniya eased past Jayawardenapura 3-1 in the 1st semifinal while Colombo defeated Moratuwa with the same scoreline in the 2nd semi. The all-important final was set up between the Kelaniya and Colombo and saw Kelaniya scrape past Colombo 3-1 while Jayawardenapura defeated Moratuwa to clinch the 3rd place.

First Place

  • University of Colombo – (Men)
  • University of Kelaniya – (Women)

Second Place

  • University of Jayawardenapura – (Men)
  • University of Colombo – (Women)

Third Place

  • University of Moratuwa / University of Kelaniya – (Men)
  • University of Jayawardenapura – (Women)

>>Click here for more Tennis News<<