The most exciting time of a rugby player’s career is the Schools’ Rugby League. The tournament was inaugurated in the year 1973. Isipathana College leads the winners tally with 18 title wins followed by Royal College with 11 wins. S. Thomas, St. Peter’s and Trinity have all won the title 4 times each.

1973RoyalMichael Muller
1974TrinityC.Y. Chang
1975TrinityRohan Soujah
1976RoyalManik Weerakumar
1977TrinityRavi Balasuriya
1978RoyalRohantha Peiris
1979RoyalRavindranath (Raba)
1980IsipathanaA.S.B. Bowela
1981RoyalSujeewa Cooray
1982IsipathanaDilroy Fernando
1983IsipathanaRodger Rodrigo
1984IsipathanaShabeen Siddique
1985IsipathanaChandana Deepthi
1986IsipathanaSelvin Sallay
1987TrinityTyrrell Rajapakshe
1988RoyalLasitha Gunarathne
1989S.ThomasRizyi Suhaib
1990S.ThomasNareen Perera
1991S.ThomasSavantha De Saram
1992IsipathanaChampika Nishantha
1993IsipathanaChamila Samantha
1994IsipathanaLilekha Fernando
1995IsipathanaAli Wahid
1996IsipathanaBandula Mallikarachchi
1997IsipathanaWajira Hewage
1998RoyalW.S.S. Perera
1999IsipathanaChrishantha Chandran
2000S.ThomasGavin Jayasekera
2001IsipathanaRanga Perera
2002St. Peter’sDilanka Wijesekera
2003RoyalRajitha Jayasundara
2004KingswoodFazil Marija
2005KingswoodEranda Weerakkody
2006St. Peter’sHaren Ariyawardena
2007St. Peter’sRanuka Jayasinghe
2008KingswoodGayan Rathnage
2009RoyalNaren Dasan
2010St. Peter’sKeith Gurusinghe
2011RoyalShehan Pathirana
2012IsipathanaKumendra Dharmadasa
2013DharmarajaRochana Hettiarrachchi
2014IsipathanaShena Dileka
2015RoyalBhanuka Gamage
2016IsipathanaKushan Indunil

In an attempt to highlight the prestigious history and years of tradition within the Sri Lanka’s schools rugby community, compiled and published this list of former champions in the schools rugby league some time ago. Unfortunately, due to some lackluster recordkeeping we have no means to corroborate the details above. As a result, we are now venturing into citizen journalism as we turn to our passionate fans to help us confirm the list so as to give the heroes on whose backs Sri Lanka schools rugby was built, the respect they have rightfully earned.

Feel free to email us any corroborated information or con [email protected] or drop us a comment at