The third round of the CEAT SLADA Championship concluded yesterday (27th) at Gajaba Supercross race track in Saliyapura, Anuradhapura.

Considered as one of the fastest gravel race meets in the country, Gajaba Supercross is a leading fixture in any race driver/riders calendar. This was evident with the huge turnout of competitors that had enrolled for the race.

pic 01The race track that is normally very dusty was this time watered to perfection and there was not much dust during the races and it held very well. Action kicked started with the GROUP ‘MX RACING’ – Racing Motorcross Bikes over 100cc up to 125cc (2T) Forces event  which is a race dedicated to the servicemen of the military. Buddika Kasun Silva representing the Signal Corps extended his dominance as he managed to race first to the checkered flag.

pic 02Imal ‘Incredible’ Manchanayake who has been prolific in the Group SM – Supermotard event since last season, yet again prevailed over all the challenges to win both Group SM races comfortably. Imal had the challenge of National MX champion Ishan Dasanayake who had entered the Supermotard event for the first time this year. Dassanayake did not get on to a good start in the first race but managed to challenge the race leaders and take the lead in the opening rounds of the first race. Although he unfortunately pulled out from halfway through the competition it will be an interesting matchup in the future. Speaking to Imal Manchanayake had this to say regarding the win “I am very happy I could win the first Ananda Wedisinghe memorial trophy, Ananda aiya competed in this race in his final years and we have had great battles so it’s very special and I am glad I managed to win the inaugural trophy”

pic 03Ashan Silva who is enjoying a golden run so far this season on the gravel track as well as the tarmac extended his dominance in the SL GT Cars up to 3500cc race. Silva qualified with the best time on the qualification day take pole in Moto 01 of the opening race but was given a stop start penalty as the organizers found him guilty of taking a foul start. However this was only indicated to Silva in the final lap to which he protested as it should have been shown to him with at least three laps to the final lap. Putting the controversy aside Silva who turned up for the Grand Finale of the SL GT race showed why he was a class apart as he managed to see of the challenge of Kushan Peiris with ease and built a massive lead before winning the race comfortably. Silva was named the best driver of the race and was the third occasion he has won this accolade at Gajaba Supercross .

Group MX racing up to 250cc event which is considered as one of the fastest motorcycle events of the competition was a treat to watch as the start line comprised of many giants in the event. Ishan Dassanayake, Gayan Sandaruwan , Shehan Adikari, Evon Gurusinghe and Buddika Kasun are a few that were expected to dominate. However it was Jacques Gunawardane who managed to reign supreme over the rest of  riders as he managed to win both races with some controlled riding and was crowned the best rider of Gajaba Supercross 2017.