DS-Mahanama rivalry set for another bout this weekend

DS v Mahanama Press Conference

The official media conference was held today at the P. Sara Oval Colombo on the 11th Battle of the Gold’s between DS Senanayake College and Mahanama College which will be played on the 24th and 25th of March at the same venue.

The one-day encounter will be played on the 9th of April at R. Premadasa International Stadium. DS Senanayake will host the limited overs encounter this year and to celebrate their 50th anniversary the game will be played under lights for the first time.

DS-Mahanama started their series way back in 2007 and since then only DS Senanayake has notched up a win in 2014 under the captaincy of left arm seamer Binura Fernando, the rest of the matches ended as drawn encounters.

Both teams are playing the limited overs encounter for the Aravinda De Silva Challenge Trophy. Mahanama College leads the tally with 5 wins and DS with 4 wins while 1 game ended in no result. Mahanama College won the last year’s limited over encounter by 28 runs.

This year, Mahanama College will be led by wicket keeper batsman Malindu Maduranga who has been a prolific run getter and has struck 950 runs with the willow for the Mahanama outfit and he’s been brilliant behind the stumps.

Skipper Maduranga is confident with his team and will be determined to put up a good show in the big match and the one day encounter.

“The game should be played in the spirit of the game and to preserve the brotherhood of both schools. So, I wish both teams best of luck and may the best team win. “ Mahanama College Principal L.M.D Dharmasena  said.

DS Senanayake College will be captained by stylish left hander and seamer Torin Pitigala who is by far the most senior campaigner in the DS Senanayake outfit. He missed out on many matches this season due to injuries but has recovered and looking forward to doing well in the big game. Shezaad Ameen will be the vice-captain of the DS outfit and much will be expected from him in the 11th Battle of the Golds.

“We expect a massive crowd for the limited over encounter which will be played as a day/night game and we are happy to organize it in a grand scale this year. “ DS Senanayake College Principal R.M.M Ratnayake confidently told the media.

Having a history of 60 years, Mahanama College has produced some great cricketers in the past such as Danushka Gunathilake and Lalithmana Fernando and they are working on building more players who will represent Sri Lanka in the future.

DS Senanayake College have produced by far Sri Lanka’s best batsman in Aravinda De Silva along with former Sri Lankan skipper Hashan Tillakaratne and recently, T20 specialists Isuru Udana and Binura Fernando.

Muditha Lakshan will lead the bowling attack with his crafty left arm spin. He has taken 68 wickets along with Vihan Gunasekara who also strengthens the attack with his off-spin for the Senanayakians with over 50 wickets.

DS Senanayake skipper Torin Pitigala and Mahanama skipper Malindu Maduranga are eager to take the trophy to their respective schools.