Colombo Rowing Club and Ladies College dominate Closing Regatta 2017

The annual Closing Regatta

The annual Closing Regatta which depicts the end of the rowing season was held on the 28th of January at the Colombo Rowing Club.

This regatta consisting of only senior category events was rowed over a miles distance differing from the kilometre of other regattas.

The men’s category was successfully dominated by the Colombo Rowing Club team securing wins of senior Fours, Pairs and Double sculls.

The prestigious Harry Creasy Men’s Coxed Fours event was won by Colombo Rowing Club Four including Club Captain Shehan Muthugala, Sajeev De Silva, Ruven Weerasinghe, Manilka Gunaratne and Peter Christy.

Colvin Sirimanne Men’s Senior Double Sculls event was also won by CRC duo Shehan Muthugala and Sajeev De Silva with a timing of 6.29 but not without a good fight from Royal College Double Scull Hashen Hettigoda and Charin Wijetilake who came in second.

V.A Julius Men’s Senior Pairs event was won too by the strong CRC men’s team of Club Vice Captain Sajeev De Silva and Ruven Weerasinghe.

The prestigious Herman Sirimanne Senior Men’s Scull event was secured for Royal College by skipper Hashen Hettigoda.

The Ladies Category was dominated by Ladies’ College emerging victorious in two events.

Ishara Abbey emerged first in Senior Women’s Sculls securing the President’s Trophy for Ladies College.

Ladies Senior pair’s event, Cyraine Cup was also secured by Ladies College Duo Ishara Abbey and Davina Koch.

However, the Musaeus College Fours team stole the show while securing the win of Seniors Women’s Coxed Fours event, Ladies Plate.

This records the end of another successful season of rowing at the Beire Lake.