Colombo and Moratuwa share honours at Annual Inter-University regatta


The annual inter-university regatta between the University of Moratuwa and University of Colombo concluded successfully for the 35th time yesterday at the Colombo Rowing club. The inter-university regatta dual of these two Universities was started in the late 1970’s by Dr. Ray Wijewardana.

The winners are picked based on best timings and the winners of each race will be awarded three points to the Championship tally. The regatta comprised of sculls, pairs and fours events in both men’s and women’s categories. The teams competed heavily with races going neck and neck for both.  In the men’s category the University of Moratuwa became champions while the University of Colombo took away the women’s category championship.

The men’s sculls ‘B’ race was won by Amindu Silva of Moratuwa with a timing of 4 minutes and 28 seconds whilst the Men’s pair ‘B’ race was won by Sajiththan and Ranjan Balasuriya also of Moratuwa with a timing of 4 minutes and 4 seconds.

In the men’s sculls ‘A’ race Kemitha Jayamaha of Colombo won by recording a  timing of 4 minutes and 14 seconds.  Moratuwa grabbed the Men’s pair ‘A’ race with a timing of 3 minutes and 57 seconds. The team comprised Damian Perera and Malith Gallage.

The Men’s 2x race was won by Vishwa Karunathrathne and Kasun Wijerathne of the University of Colombo with a timing of 4 minutes and 32 seconds. The graduate men’s event was won by Moratuwa with timing of 4 minutes and 17 seconds.

The Men’s fours ‘C’ race saw tough competition where Supun Nishanka, Sajjithan, Anjana Wijayalath, Malith Premarathne and Irusha Muthukuda of Colombo sliced the waters first with a timing of 4 minutes and 2 seconds. At the same time, the Men’s fours ‘B’ race was taken by Moratuwa with a timing of 3 minutes and 40 seconds with a team that comprised Malithie Vidanapathirana, Malith Gallage, Uditha Gamage, Ayeshmantha Munasinghe and Dinith Arunasiri.

The last race of the regatta which is the exciting Men’s fours ‘A’ race was also won by the University of Moratuwa with a timing of 3 minutes and 44 seconds.  Supun Nishanka, Dilanka Gamage, Amidu Silva, Damian Perera and Ranjan Balasuriya pulled in strong for Moratuwa.

University of Colombo were un-paralleled in all the women’s category events as they white-washed the Moratuwa lasses obtaining 42 points.  They were able to win after the year 2007 as it was dominated by Moratuwa all these years.

A timing of 4 mins and 40 sec is all it took Thilini Costa from the Colombo University to win the women’s sculls ‘A’race while the Women’s sculls ‘B’ race was won by Chethana Gallage of Colombo by recording a timing of 4 minutes and 55 seconds.

The Women’s pair ‘A’ and ‘B’ races were won by the University of Colombo with a timing of 2 minutes and 47 seconds and 4 minutes and 51 seconds respectively. The pair ‘A’ team comprised Isuri Perera and Chamalee Jayasundara while women’s ‘B’ team comprised Chethana Gallage and Achini Jayaweera.

The Colombo team comprising of Shehan Samarasena, Chethana Gallage, Achini Jayaweera, Isuri Perera and Chamalee Jayasundara cruised in first for the Women’s fours ‘A’ race taking just 4 minutes and 20 secs. The Women’s fours ‘B’ race saw Colombo nosing first yet again recording a timing of 5 minutes 19 seconds. The team of Kaneel Dias, Thilini Costa, S.L.A Maneesha, Kavindya Dharmarathnam and Shannon Constantine were supreme with their effort.

The Prof. Stanley Wijesundara Men’s overall challenge trophy for the boat race was awarded to the University ofMoratuwa while the Lyod Sirimanna Women’s overall challenge trophy was won unequivocally by the University of Colombo.