The defending champion of the Clay Court Nationals, Dineshkanthan Thangarajah, was stripped of his crown by Sharmal Dissanayake in the Men’s Open final, today (23rd May).

Photos: Clay Court Nationals 2019 | Day 12 | Hiran Werakkody | 22/05/2019 Editing and re-using images without permission of

The 3-time hard court National title holder and Davis Cup represent, Sharmal Dissanayake won his maiden Clay Court National title, defeating veteran superstar Dineshkanthan Thangarajah in the big finale. Final scores read 6/4, 6/2 in favour of Dissanayake.

Sharmal Dissanayake playing his signature forehand

Dineshkanthan’s road to the final

Starting as the 2nd seed in the Men’s main draw, Dineshkanthan started his tournament with a Bye in the 1st round. He made easy work of the two matches that followed against Savit Weerasinghe and A. Wijesinghe, 6/1, 6/4 and 6/0, 6/0 respectively.

Photo Album : Clay Court Nationals 2019 – Day 14

In his quarterfinal match, he was made to sweat by 8th seed C. Fernando, but Thangarajah’s experience put him through the loop with a 6/3, 7/5 win. Junior Davis Cup top player, Chathurya Nilaweera stood at the semifinal mark, but went down tamely, sending the defending champion through to the final (6/2, 7/5).

Savini grabs 2019’s first Junior National Crown

Savini Jayasuriya toppled Alana Seneviratne in a cracking final of the Girls U18 open singles, at the Clay Court Nationals

Sharmal’s road to the final

Sharmal Dissanayake started his stint as top seed in the tournament, with the highest Men’s ranking in the country. After a Bye in the first round, he defeated Liu-Hui Retallick in Round two,6/4, 6/3.

Highlights – Clay Court Nationals Men’s Final

From thereon, Sharmal eased his way into the final with three easy wins over Luca Knese (6/1, 6/1), Dumindu Dilum (6/1, 6/1) and Rostom Ali (6/0, 6/1). It was a fitting final with two of the biggest names in Sri Lanka clashing in the 2nd edition of the Clay Court Nationals.

With the Men’s Open Singles done and dusted, the Women’s title is still in heated contention.
Stay logged on to to read about the other winners and results of the Clay Court Nationals 2019!

>>Click here for more Tennis News<<