Christ Church Matale remains unbeaten at Thomian 7’s


The annual All Island Seven-a-side School’s Hockey Tournament, which is one of the most looked forward to sporting events, concluded successfully on June 24th at the Edward Park hockey grounds at Matale.

This tournament was organised by the Matale old Thomians Hockey Association, under the guidance of the Sri Lanka Schools Hockey Association and the Ministry of Education. Altogether, 24 boy’s teams participated at this tournament. At the closing ceremony, Matale district MP Ranjith Aluwihare was the Chief Guest. Appeal court judge, L. T. B. Dehedeniya was the Guest of Honour.  Mahesh Rathnam, who is the Business Development Manager at Singer Sri Lanka was also present at the closing ceremony. The tournament was sponsored by Singer Sri Lanka and the co-sponsors were AVH distributors and Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation.

In the first quarter finals, Christ Church Matale beat St. Thomas Matale by 2-nil in the penalty shoot-out, while in the second quarter finals, St. Aloysisus Galle beat St. Joseph Vas Wennapuwa by 1-0. The third quarter final match between Dharamdutha College Matale and S. Thomas’ Mount Lavina ended as 1-nil and the last quarter final match between Maris Stella Negombo and Trinity College Kandy ended as 2-nil in the penalty shoot-out.

The first semi-final match which was between Christ Church Matale and St. Aloysisus Galle ended as 2-1 in favour of the former, while the second semi-final between Maris Stella Negombo and Dharmadutha ended as 4-3 after penalty shoot outs in favour of Maris Stella.

The final match was between Christ Church Matale, who was the champions last year and Maris Stella Negombo. A fast and entertaining match that grabbed everyone’s attention ended as 2-1 to Christ Church Matale, champions again in this tournament.

The A.G. Wijesinghe Memorial Trophy was awarded to the champion team Christ Church and A.P.B Harasgama Memorial Shield was awarded to the 1st runners-up Maris Stella. The C.K. Hulangamuwa Trophy was awarded to the 2nd runners-up team which was St. Aloysius Galle at the closing ceremony. At the same time, cash prizes were also given to the winners.