Twenty-four-year-old M U Chanaka Perera annexed the 131st Continental Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship, defeating G. P. Sisira Kumara 3 & 1 in the 36-hole final at the RCGC, to become the first Sri Lankan to win the Amateur Golf Championship after a lapse of five years, since 2012. It was 1994 when D J D Perera (Jessie) and K A. Chandradasa (Tissa), featured in an ‘All Sri Lanka’ final which was won by Jessie Perera.

Chanaka played steady Golf throughout the final and built a healthy 3 up lead after the morning session of 18 holes. In the afternoon session, Sisira Kumara pulled back the lead to Square the Match at the 12th Hole but two solid Birdies from Chanaka on 14th & 15th gave him an unassailable lead of 2 up going to the 34th Hole, which was halved and Chanaka sealed victory on the penultimate hole of the 36-hole final to win the Sri Lanka National Amateur Golf Championship title, 3 & 1.

Taniya Minel Balasuriya had a tough match on her hands with Kayla Perera taking a 1 up lead after the morning round. However, Taniya Minel started the afternoon round with an opening hole Birdie but lost the 3rd Hole for Kayla to remain 1 up. The 4th & 5th were halved and then Taniya Minel rattled off 4 Birdies on the trot 6th, 7th, 8th 9th to be 2 up at the turn. Kayla won the 10th, but Taniya held her nerve amidst consistent stroking from Kayla to win the 4th and then playing the final two holes Dormie, sealed victory with a cracking second shot to the 17th for yet another Birdie.

Final Results – Sri Lanka Men’s Amateur Golf Championship 2018

Winner – M U Chanaka Perera 3 & 1

Runner-up – G P Sisira Kumara

Final Results – Sri Lanka Ladies’ Amateur Golf Championship 2018

Winner –  Taniya Minel Balasuriya 3 & 1

Runner-up – Kayla Perera 

>>Click here for more Golf News<<