Sri Lanka fall behind in tour game

Sri Lanka tour of Australia 2019 | Tour Match (D/N) – Day 2


The second day’s play of the 3-day tour match between the Australia XI and the Sri Lankans saw Sri Lanka ending their 1st innings on a mere 176/5 at the Blundstone Arena in Hobart. The hosts ended the day 239 runs ahead of the visitors with 99/2 on the board in their 2nd innings.

The new opening pair for Sri Lanka, Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne resumed Sri Lanka’s 1st innings on Friday afternoon and went on to bat 14 more overs.

Read : Sri Lankan bowlers made to toil hard on first day

The pair was separated in the 28th over by pacer Scot Boland as he dismissed Dimuth Karunaratne for 44, Sri Lanka’s highest score in this match. Thirimanne was also dismissed, by pacer Chris Termain for a slow 109-ball 32.

Sadeera Samarawickrama batted at number 4, instead of Kusal Mendis who is injured. He was dismissed cheaply for 11 runs. Skipper Dinesh Chandimal batting at number 3 scored 32 runs while Dhananjaya de Silva who scored just 14 runs batted at number 6. Both of them were dismissed courtesy the leg spin of all-rounder Marnus Labuschagne.

Read More : Big relief for Sri Lanka as Kusal Mendis avoids serious injury

Roshen Silva (36), batting at number 5, and wicket keeper Niroshan Dickwella (4) remained unbeaten as Sri Lanka finished their 75 overs on 176/5. As agreed by both teams, Sri Lankans had to declare their innings after the 75th over.

Unlike the Australians, the tourists maintained a very slow run-rate as they finished 140 runs behind the hosts. Dimuth Karunaratne was the only batsman with a strike-rate close to 50 while the run-rate read 2.34 when their innings ended.

Read More : The final frontier

Australia XI batting in their 2nd innings, once again started swiftly as they ended the day on 99/2 in 26.1 overs. Matt Renshaw and skipper Joe Burns, one of whom is likely to open the batting for Australia in the 1st Test alongside Marcus Harris, failed to fire once again as they managed to score only 10 and 22 respectively. Dushmantha Chameera and Kasun Rajitha were the wicket-takers for Sri Lanka.

Read Also : Gabba pink-ball Test under scrutiny after BBL power outage

Dushmantha Chameera was very expensive, despite picking up a wicket, giving away 28 runs in his 4 overs. Interestingly for Sri Lanka, Lahiru Thirimanne too bowled 3 overs of of his slow medium pacers.


Full Scorecard

Australia Board XI

316/5 & 224/3

(59 overs)


Sri Lanka

176/5 & 131/6

(51 overs)

Match Drawn

Australia Board XI’s 1st Innings

Matt Renshaw c D Karunarathne b D Chameera735
Joe Burns c D De Silva b K Rajitha413
Marnus Labuschagne b D Chameera610
Kurtis Patterson not out157212
Will Pucovski c K Rajitha b D Chameera2354
Jason Sangha c D Chameera b K Rajitha39
Jake Doran not out102129
14 (b 1, lb 1, nb 12)
316/5 (75 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-11 (J Burns, 5.4 ov), 2-20 (M Labuschagne, 8.3 ov), 3-25 (M Renshaw, 10.2 ov), 4-88 (W Pucovski, 28.6 ov), 5-98 (J Sangha, 31.2 ov)
Nuwan Pradeep2060 3.00
Kasun Rajitha172712 4.18
Dushmantha Chameera163573 3.56
Suranga Lakmal132430 3.31
Dilruwan Perera121540 4.50
Dhananjaya de Silva51130 2.60
Lakshan Sandakan100700 7.00

Sri Lanka’s 1st Innings

Dimuth Karunarathne lbw by S Boland4492
Lahiru Thirimanne c & b C Tremain32109
Dinesh Chandimal c K Patterson b M Labuschagne3280
Sadeera Samarawickrama c K Patterson b S Boland1124
Roshen Silva not out3691
Dhananjaya de Silva c M Renshaw b M Labuschagne1442
Niroshan Dickwella not out412
3 (lb 3)
176/5 (75 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-65 (D Karunarathne, 27.1 ov), 2-87 (L Thirimanne, 38.1 ov), 3-103 (S Samarawickrama, 44.4 ov), 4-137 (D Chandimal, 59.4 ov), 5-169 (D De Silva, 71.3 ov)
Chris Tremain182321 1.78
Michael Nesser162410 2.56
Scott Boland165372 2.31
Jon Holland151350 2.33
Marnus Labuschagne90272 3.00
Jason Sangha1010 1.00

Australia Board XI’s 2nd Innings

Matt Renshaw lbw by K Rajitha1029
Joe Burns c D De Silva b D Chameera2218
Marnus Labuschagne c D De Silva b L Kumara50101
Kurtis Patterson not out102136
Will Pucovski not out3370
7 (lb 6, w 1)
224/3 (59 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-24 (J Burns, 5.4 ov), 2-44 (M Renshaw, 10.2 ov), 3-134 (M Labuschagne, 37.5 ov)
Lahiru Kumara142481 3.43
Dushmantha Chameera40281 7.00
Dimuth Karunarathne3180 2.67
Kasun Rajitha3091 3.00
Lahiru Thirimanne3080 2.67
Lakshan Sandakan141530 3.79
Suranga Lakmal63160 2.67
Dilruwan Perera80260 3.25
Dhananjaya de Silva40220 5.50

Sri Lanka’s 2nd Innings

Dimuth Karunarathne lbw by M Neser316
Lahiru Thirimanne not out46121
Niroshan Dickwella c J Burns b M Neser1923
Dhananjaya de Silva b J Holland29
Kusal Janith b J Holland312
Dilruwan Perera lbw by J Holland1428
Sadeera Samarawickrama b J Holland620
Roshen Silva not out2364
Suranga Lakmal not out714
8 (b 6, lb 1, nb 1)
131/6 (51 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-3 (D Karunarathne, 3.5 ov), 2-29 (N Dickwella, 9.3 ov), 3-35 (D De Silva, 13.3 ov), 4-39 (K Janith, 17.1 ov), 5-72 (D Perera, 25.1 ov), 6-82 (S Samarawickrama, 29.6 ov)
Chris Tremain91320 3.56
Michael Nesser5282 1.60
Jon Holland152284 1.87
Scott Boland114280 2.55
Marnus Labuschagne91260 2.89
Jason Sangha2020 1.00