Havelock Sports Club continued their unbeaten run for the fifth consecutive week as they clinched a very tight game against Army SC last evening. The scoreboard at full time read 37-26 ensuring a very valuable bonus point for the park club.

Havies were boosted with the additions of Sudarshana Muthuthanthri, Sharo Fernando and Ashan Darling who Coach Ronny Ibrahim rested for the previous encounter against CH & FC. Mithun Hapugoda too was included in the starting lineup after serving a one match ban for the block tackle he made against CR & FC two weeks ago.

Army had the possession of the ball in the opening minutes, but a knock on by Ashan Bandara resulted in a kick and chase from Niroshan Fernando whilst the referee played advantage. Even though Army SC scrambled back in defense they couldn’t stop Sudarshana Muthuthanthri from crossing try line to open the scoring for Havies. Dulaj Perera was unabled to convert this try (Havelocks 05-00 Army)

Havies dominated the next few minutes of the game. The pressure saw Army concede a simple penalty which Dulaj kicked it perfectly through the uprights to increase their lead (Havelocks 08-00 Army)

Army were able to bounce back soon as they took advantage of the incessant infringements by Havelocks as Gayan Salinda was able to convert two penalties out of three they were awarded in kicking range. (Havelocks 08-06 Army)

The Momentum stayed with the soldiers as they dominated the breakdown and their play maker Gayan Salinda spotted a gap in the Havelock defense which he ran through with ease to give his side the lead for the first time in the game as he added the extras himself. (Havelocks 08-13 Army)

Army were patient in attack as they initiated about six pick and drives which ended when their veteran prop Ashoka Jayalal Scored their Second try under the post to increase their lead. Salinda surprisingly missed the easy conversion (Havelocks 08-18 Army)

Havelocks were very sloppy, as they lost the ball twice on the try line in the first half. Havies needed to score next to stay in the game and so they did. Senal Deelaka powered through the army defense to score an important try for his club against the run of play. Perera couldn’t add the extra points (Havelocks 13-18 Army)

In the Dying stages of the first half Chamara Dabare got through the Army defense using his pace, gaining 40 meters setting up Dushamantha Priyadarshana who barged over from the base of the ensuing ruck. Perera added the extra two points to put his team in the lead going into the break (Havelocks 20-18 Army)

Half time – Havelocks 20-18 Army

Army scored directly from the kick off through Danushka Thalwaththa as he carved his way through the havies defense. Salinda missed the conversion (Havelocks 20-23 Army)

Havies were awarded a penalty within kicking range, which they turned down in order to go for touch. The ensuing line-out was spot on even though the rolling maul was defended ably by the soldier’s pack. Lasindu Karunathilake eventually powered over the try line, Perera converted. (Havelocks 27-23 Army)

Army was penalized for being offside soon after and this time slotted in the much needed three points. Army replied quickly with their forwards inching towards the goal line. Prasad Madushanka was spotted offside was sent off.  Army too opted to go for points and they narrowed the deficit to just four. (Havelocks 30-26 Army)

Army was on the attack again in the last ten minutes but the Havies defense stood firm. The hosts closed out the game with the back line finally spreading the ball wide to their center Hirantha Perera who ran in their 5th try of the evening. Perera converted giving the Havelocks an 11 point win.  (Havelocks 37-26 Army)

Full Time – Havelocks 37-26 Army

ThePapare.com Player of the Match – Sudarshana Muthuthantri (Havelocks SC)

Match referee – Irshard Cader

The score breakdown

Havelocks Sports Club (20) 37

Tries    –          Sudarshana Muthuthantri

Senal Deelaka

                        Dushamantha Priyadarshana

                        Lasindu Karunathilake

                        Hirantha Perera

Conversions – Dulaj Perera (3)

Penalties –       Dulaj Perera (2)

Army Sports Club (18) 26

Tries    –          Gayan Salinda

Ashoka Jayalal

                        Danushka Thalwaththa

Conversion –    Gayan Salinda (1)

Penalties –       Gayan Salinda (3)