Home Cricket Avishka and Dineth thrust Nalanda into command

Avishka and Dineth thrust Nalanda into command

90th Battle of the Maroons – Day 01


One of the oldest school cricket battles in Sri Lanka, the historic Ananda-Nalanda clash for the Dr. N.M. Perera Memorial Challenge Trophy commenced today for the 90th occasion, at the Sinhalese Sports Club grounds, with highly celebrated old boys from each school, Sri Lankan Cricket stalwarts Arjuna Ranatunga & Bandula Warnapura as chief guests.

Nalandians who have chosen a strong line-up for the starting XI with the likes of skipper Lakshitha Manasinghe, opener Avishka Perera and fast bowling all-rounder Chamindu Wijesinghe, won the toss and elected to bat first in what seemed like a belter of a wicket for the batsmen.

Nalanda College Starting XI – Avishka Perera, Dilhara Polgampola, Ranindu de Silva, Lakshitha Manasinghe, Chamindu Wijesinghe, Raveen de Silva, Moksha Sankalpa, Mahima Weerakoon, Jithesh Wasala, Kaveesh Madurapperuma, Dineth Samaraweera

A prolific run getter in the ongoing Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament, Kamesh Nirmal has been privileged to lead Ananda College which experienced a see-saw 2018/19 season.

Ananda College Starting XI – Kamesh Nirmal (C), Kanishka Ranthilakage, Moditha Ranathunga, Kalana Wijesiri, Chamika Gunasekara, Dasun Tharaka, Adeesha Perera, Daminda Reshan, Sudeepa Agulugaha, Saviru Bandara, Janindu Jayawardene

Dashing right hander Avishka Perera who have scored 2 centuries this year, accompanied by wicket keeper batsman Dilhara Polgampola, opened the innings for Nalanda, who has been searching for their 5th Big Match win since 1953 vs Ananda College who tasted their 14th and last battle of the Maroons win in 2003.

Photo Album : Ananda College vs Nalanda College | 90th Battle of the Maroons – Day 1

Pitch had very little to offer for the seamers in the first hour but opening pacer Dasun Tharaka managed to find Avishka Perera’s edge of the bat when he was on naught only to be put down by Sudeepa Agulugaha at slip cordon. Then, Perera scored runs in a blistering pace with boundaries all over the ground while Polgampola played a cautious innings as the second pedal.

Lack of concentration by Polgampola cost him his wicket just before the lunch break as he tried to sweep one across but hit his pads plump in front of the wicket when he was on 22. With a run-a-ball fifty to his name Perera led Nalanda to lunch (93-1).

Afternoon session was all about Avishka Perera as he cruised to his century at a rapid pace putting Nalanda on a commanding position. He reached his century from 110 balls and was stumped for 120 off Saviru Bandara’s bowling as he tried one too many.

Live – Ananda College vs Nalanda College – 90th Battle of the Maroons

The 90th Battle of the Maroons annual cricket encounter…

After the departure of the century-maker, Nalanda middle order chipped in handsomely to get them to 269 for the loss of 7 wickets before they called quits for their first innings.

Ananda College’s horrendous day didn’t end there as their wicket column was ticked 4 times for 52 runs before the stumps were called by the umpires as 15-year old left arm pacer Dineth Samaraweera launched a probing spell just before stumps to make the Ananda batters jump around and all over the crease. He bagged 3 wickets to sleep well tonight and will come all guns blazing with their potent bowling attack, dreaming of a Nalanda win after 66 years.

Stay logged on to ThePapare.com for exclusive LIVE coverage, photos & latest updates from the 90th Battle of the Maroons 2019. Live action of day 2 can also be viewed on Channel Number 01 on Dialog TV.

Match drawn

Ananda College
232/10 (60.2)
Nalanda College
269/7 (72.1) & 216/5 (41.2)
Avishka Perera b Saviru Bandara12013417089.55
Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola lbw b Saviru Bandara22612036.07
Ranindu C de Silva c Kalana Sulakkana Wijesiri b Sudeepa Agulugaha16572028.07
Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara16372043.24
Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe c Adeesha Perera b Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara27613044.26
Raveen A de Silva c Sudeepa Agulugaha b Janindu Jayaweera36673153.73
Mahima Weerakoon c Kamesh Nirmal b Dasun Tharaka151330115.38
Moksha Sankalpa not out6610100.00
Extras11 (b 0 , lb 9 , nb 1, w 1)
Total269/7 (72.1 Overs, RR: 3.73)
Adeesha Perera8.012403.00
Dasun Tharaka9.023113.44
Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara16.034622.88
Saviru Bandara19.036623.47
J Jayawardene14.117415.25
Sudeepa Agulugaha6.011913.17
Sudeepa Agulugaha c Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe14232060.87
Dasun Tharaka b Dineth Samaraweera07000.00
Kamesh Nirmal b Dineth Samaraweera571071.43
Kanishka Rantilakage c Raveen A de Silva b Dineth Samaraweera8620133.33
Moditha Ranathunga lbw b Dineth Samaraweera641088059.26
Daminda Reshan c Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe17323053.12
Kalana Sulakkana Wijesiri c Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe39426092.86
J Jayawardene not out631038061.17
Adeesha Perera c Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe3100030.00
Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara b Raveen A de Silva10251040.00
Saviru Bandara b Raveen A de Silva01000.00
Extras9 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 4, w 1)
Total232/10 (60.2 Overs, RR: 3.85)
Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe15.025833.87
Dineth Samaraweera18.016343.50
Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe8.013113.88
Kaveesh Madurapperuma6.003205.33
Mahima Weerakoon8.011702.12
Jithesh Wasala2.001105.50
Raveen A de Silva3.201625.00
Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola c Kamesh Nirmal b Adeesha Perera16283057.14
Avishka Perera run out20214095.24
Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Gishan Vishwajith Edirisinghe871039184.47
Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe run out6463100101.59
Moksha Sankalpa run out20333060.61
Raveen A de Silva not out00000.00
Extras9 (b 3 , lb 6 , nb 0, w 0)
Total216/5 (41.2 Overs, RR: 5.23)
Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara9.212312.50
Dasun Tharaka4.002706.75
Saviru Bandara14.006404.57
Adeesha Perera6.011913.17
J Jayawardene5.001703.40
Sudeepa Agulugaha3.0030010.00