A long awaited innings victory against Royal College at Asgiriya lit up Trinitian spirits after the defending champions were defeated by St. Peters College in the quarterfinals of the Schools’ League Championship and are currently looking to finish the 2015/2016 run on a high.

A bit of history

It was in the year 1910 that Trinity College took up the gentlemen’s game. That marked a significant milestone in the college history and five years after, Trinity ventured on to their first regular encounter against St. Anthony’s. The encounters with Royal and S. Thomas commenced shortly after and are continued to the present date.

 Visit the March Madness Hub 

With a rich cricketing pedigree of over 100 years, Trinity has always been in the top tier throughout the century. Trinity has produced so many well-known cricketers such as Lakshman Kadiragamar, Denham Madena, Ravi Rathnayake, Nilantha Rathnayake, Chaminda Unantenna, Kaushalya Weerarathne, Sachith Pathirana and Niroshan Dickwella. Perhaps their greatest export is Legend Kumar Sangakkara, one of World Cricket’s most successful batsmen.

The Lions have played 98 encounters with their arch-rivals for the coveted Col. Bertie Dias trophy and were the last to win the encounter outright in 2012 under the captaincy of national player Niroshan Dickwella.

Season so far

The Lions have been at the top of their game this season. After 19 matches they have managed to register 10 outright wins and 5 first innings wins, having lost out on only two occasions.

  1. Trinity vs Maliyadewa College Kurunegala – Game called off due to rain
  2. Trinity vs St. Aloysious College – Won by an innings and 80 runs
  3. Trinity vs St. Anthony’s College Wattala – Won by 9 wickets
  4. Trinity vs De Mazenod College Kandana – Won by 8 wickets
  5. Trinity vs D. S. Senanayake College – Won by an innings and 36 runs. (Beat DSS after 13 years)
  6. Trinity vs St. Servatious College – Won by an innings and 88 runs
  7. Trinity vs St. Peters College – The match was stopped half way due to inclement weather
  8. Trinity vs Gampaha Bandaranaike College – Won by 8 wickets.
  9. Trinity vs Dharmapala College Pannipitiya – Won by 167 runs
  10. Trinity vs St. Benedict’s College – Match drawn. Trinity win 1st innings
  11. Trinity vs St. Joseph’s College – Match drawn. Trinity win 1st innings
  12. Trinity vs Dharmaraja College – Won by 3 wickets
  13. Trinity vs Ananda College – Won by 4 wickets. (Beat Ananda after 50 years)
  14. Trinity vs Isipathana College – Match drawn. Trinity win 1st innings
  15. Trinity vs Zahira College Colombo – Match drawn. Trinity win 1st innings
  16. Trinity vs S. Thomas Mt. Lavinia – Match drawn. Trinity lost 1st innings
  17. Trinity vs St. Peter’s College – Match drawn. Trinity lost 1st innings
  18. Trinity vs Royal College – Trinity win by an innings and 1 run
  19. Trinity vs Maris Stella College – Match drawn. Trinity win 1st innings

Raveen Sayer in control

Fourth year player and Lionsman Raveen Sayer takes control of the Trinity team for the second consecutive year. The Under 17 national cap peaked last season picking up over 100 wickets and crossing the 500 run mark. Picking up seven five-wicket hauls, Sayer is in line to cross the 100-wicket mark this season yet again having already got 98 under his name.

The skipper has been the supportive backbone in the Trinity lineup contributing with both bat and ball. His lower order knocks in many games have led Trinity to victories and with a contribution of 640 runs, he has proved himself to be one of the best all round players in the business.

Players to watch

Fourth-year coloursman and stand in skipper Nushan Weerasinghe has been phenomenal for Trinity as he crossed the 1000 run mark just before the big match. Opening the batting for the side, Nushan has given the promising start that his team needed.

Right hand batsman Dilan Jayalath has scored 1200 runs thus far this season, making him the highest run getter in the team. His contributions include 7 half centuries and a very important century. Batting in the fourth spot, Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan is just 14 runs short of reaching four figures. His 986 runs consist of 2 centuries showing his abilities to bat longer innings.

Trinity had the element of surprise with the inclusion of Duvindu Tilekerathne coming to the side last season. His transformation from pace to spin perhaps was one of the best decisions taken by coach Sampath Perera and at present he takes his spot as one of the key bowlers in the Trinity attack. The coloursman, having taken 99 wickets thus far, is just one short of achieving the triple figure mark.

« 1 of 26 »

Fast bowler Lahiru Sudesh has missed most of the season due to his Sri Lanka U19 commitments and so will be raring to go for the kill at the all important big match.

Captain Raveen Sayer

Final say

In conclusion, Trinity College will be disappointed with their early exit from the League Championship after a successful season but with the 99th Battle of the Blues on the line, Raveen Sayer’s 1st XI team will look to finish the season in style against St. Anthony’s at Asgiriya.