Western Province South convincingly beat Western Province North by 130 runs to qualify for the final of the SLC under 19 Provincial one day tournament.

Winning the toss and electing to bat at Colts grounds proved to be the correct decision as Western Province South notched up a mammoth 303 in their allotted 50 overs.

The opening batsmen gave the Western Province South an incredible start putting on 130 runs for the first wicket as the Western Province North bowlers had no answer to their batting.

Nishan Madushka top scored with a sensational 102 off 122 balls with 7 boundaries and 3 maximums, taking the Western Province South batting towards their mammoth total. Sanoj Dharshika provided vital support with 52 runs of his own.

Kamil Mishara (46) and Avindu Fernando (29) provided some late order hitting as the duo upped the ante in the final overs of the innings.

Mithila Geeth (2/48) and Zahira College all-rounder Sajith Sameera (2/68) managed to impress with the ball in what otherwise was a dismal bowling performance for  Western Province North.

Western Province North never seemed to be in a position to chase down the mammoth target of 304 and they faltered for just 173 runs in 31.1 overs.

The openers managed to notch up just 5 runs as explosive batsman Sajith Sameera was dismissed for just 4 runs.

From then on the Western Province North innings never got going and wickets at regular intervals curtailed the run flow.

Ananda all-rounder Lahiru Attanayake was the only batsman to trouble the scorers with a substantial score of 51. Ashan Fernando and Pruthuvi Rasal contributed with 28 and 26 respectively.

Sanjaya (2/24), T. Perera (2/33) and S. Darshika (2/47) were the pick of the bowlers as they picked 6 wickets between themselves.

Western Province South 303/8 (50) Nishan Madushka 102, Sanoj Dharshika 52, Kamil Mishara 46, Avindu Fernando 29, Mithila Geeth 2/48, Sajith Sameera 2/68

Western Province North 173 (31.1) Lahiru Attanayake 51, Ashan Fernando 28, Pruthuvi Rasal 26, R. Sanjaya 2/24, T. Perera 2/33, S. Darshika 2/47.

Result: Western Province South won by 130 runs.