Home Cricket Club Cricket Colombo remain unbeaten as Galle lose their third

Colombo remain unbeaten as Galle lose their third

U19 Super Provincial Tournament 2019


Team Colombo consolidated their top-spot in the table with a 4-wicket win over Team Galle at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, in the penultimate match of the SLC U19 Super Provincial Tournament’s league stage.

Squads: U19 Super Provincial Tournament

Team Colombo vs Team Galle

Team Galle still searching for their first win of the tournament, won the toss and elected to bat first. They almost got off the mark yesterday against Team Dambulla, only to miss it by a whisker and fall short by 2 runs.

Team Colombo on the other hand, having won both their previous games, once again had no problems in walking away with a win as they chased down the 282 runs set by Galle with 4 wickets in hand in the final over.

Read More : Dambulla records a thrilling victory from the jaws of defeat

Earlier in the day, the southerners got off to a decent start with a 72-run opening stand, dominated by Sri Lanka U19 cap Navod Paranavithana. However, it was just 1 good spell by all-rounder Sonal Dinusha that Team Colombo needed to get back to the game as he dismissed Paranavithana for 58 just after his opening partner Chethaka Nilanduwa of St. Servatius’ College Matara was dismissed for 18.

The back-bone of the Galle innings was then beautifully constructed by two experienced boys, skipper Thaveesha Abishek and Mahanamian, Pavan Rathnayake, a batsman who possesses most of the skills a modern-day middle-order batsman requires.

Photos: Colombo vs Galle | SLC U19 Super Provincial Tournament 2019

The 87-run partnership for the 4th wicket was broken by another promising youngster, Praveen De Silva, with his left arm pace. Following that it was only Sandun Mendis who supported Rathnayake as Galle kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Mendis played a perfect cameo scoring 26 off 18 while Rathnayake fell in the final over for 71 runs as Dinusha’s 4th victim.

In bowling for Colombo, Sonal Dinusha finished with impressive figures of 4 for 39 after 10 overs while the Wattala Anthonian was the only other bowler who completed 10 overs giving away just 35 runs.

The run-chase was all about the Colombo batsmen as they got off to a flyer. Mohammed Shamaz opening the innings today found his rhythm as he added 137 runs for the 1st wicket with his skipper Kamil Mishara, who is in red-hot form. 

The top 3 batsmen went past 50 for Colombo, while Mishara missed a second consecutive century by just 3 runs. Royalist Ahan Wickramasinghe also scored 55, his 2nd fifty of the tournament. 

Even though Colombo lost a few wickets towards the end of their run-chase, the start provided by the top order was sufficient to get them over the line eventually.

Points table after today’s fixtures

Colombo U19330141.665
Kandy U192114-0.62
Dambulla U192114-1.45
Galle U193030-0.283


The final match of the league stage will be played tomorrow between Team Dambulla and Team Kandy, as a virtual semi-final as the winner will go on to face Team Colombo in the final this Tuesday (23). Team Galle will now meet tomorrow’s loser in the 3rd place play-off, which is scheduled to be played on the 22nd Monday.

Stay with us and catch the Live action on ThePapare.com, Dialog Television Channel No.77 and Dialog MyTV.

>>Click Here For More Cricket News<<


Colombo U19
286/6 (49.2)
Galle U19
282/7 (50)
Navod Paranavithana c Dilmin Rathnayake b Sonal Dinusha5828130207.14
Chethaka Denuwan st b Sonal Dinusha18403045.00
Thaveesha Abhishek c Dilmin Rathnayake b Praveen de Silva641018063.37
Thevin Amarasinghe c Praveen de Silva b Dilmin Rathnayake24252196.00
Pawan Rathnayake c Praveen de Silva b Sonal Dinusha70803287.50
Dunith Wellalage c Dilmin Rathnayake b Sandaruwan Chinthaka06000.00
Sandun Mendis c Thashika Nirmal b Sonal Dinusha271821150.00
Ashen Dilhara not out3200150.00
Chihan Kalindu not out230066.67
Extras16 (b 1 , lb 0 , nb 2, w 13, pen 0)
Total282/7 (50 Overs, RR: 5.64)
Fall of Wickets 1-72 (8.5) Navod Paranavithana, 2-88 (12.6) Chethaka Denuwan, 3-127 (20.5) Thevin Amarasinghe, 4-215 (42.1) Thaveesha Abhishek, 5-216 (43.2) Dunith Wellalage, 6-261 (47.6) Sandun Mendis, 7-278 (49.3) Pawan Rathnayake,
Praveen de Silva917518.33
Chamindu Wijesinghe3033011.00
Thashika Nirmal412706.75
Sonal Dinusha1039040.00
Kaveesha Dulanjana1013503.50
Dilmin Rathnayake703715.29
Sandaruwan Chinthaka703515.00

Mohammed Shamaz c Chihan Kalindu b Ashen Dilhara65807081.25
Kamil Mishara c Pawan Rathnayake b Chethaka Denuwan9711911081.51
Ahan Wicrkamasinghe st b Dunith Wellalage554960112.24
Sonal Dinusha run out ()360050.00
Praveen de Silva c Samith Isuru b Sandun Mendis121101109.09
Chamindu Wijesinghe lbw b Dunith Wellalage131110118.18
Thashika Nirmal not out14151093.33
Sandaruwan Chinthaka not out6610100.00
Extras21 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 1, w 15, pen 0)
Total286/6 (49.2 Overs, RR: 5.8)
Fall of Wickets 1-137 (25.5) Mohammed Shamaz, 2-213 (38.4) Kamil Mishara, 3-223 (40.3) Sonal Dinusha, 4-250 (43.4) Praveen de Silva, 5-251 (44.1) Ahan Wicrkamasinghe, 6-272 (47.1) Chamindu Wijesinghe,
Ashen Dilhara913413.78
Kavindu Dilhara504809.60
Dunith Wellalage1014724.70
Navod Paranavithana402807.00
Samith Isuru703505.00
Sandun Mendis1005715.70
Chethaka Denuwan4.203217.62