The national cricket selection committee resign

Sanath Jayasuriya

The Sanath Jayasuriya led national cricket selection panel has handed in their resignations to Sports Minister, Dayasiri Jayasekara earlier today.

According to their resignation letter, the committee will step down following the end of the current series against India. Jayasuriya, who resigned from his post following the 2015 World Cup quarter-final exit, returned to head the selection panel on 1st May, 2016 for his second stint and was under contract until the end of this year.

The Jayasuriya-led selection committee has been criticized heavily for not having any consistency in selection as they have tried out over 40 players in the last 15 months.

Calcutta to Pallekelle – Show love, not hate

13th March, 1996: Eden Gardens, Calcutta – A dreadful night in Indian cricket history, angry- rowdy fans…

The selection committee comprised master-blaster Sanath Jayasuriya, former Sri Lankan wicket-keeper batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana, World-cup winner and current Cricket Manager Asanka Gurusinha, former off-spinner Ranjith Madurusinghe and former right-arm fast bowler Eric Upashantha.

“As a player who has represented the country at all levels and a former captain I have taken immense pride being involved with this great game. Last Sunday’s incident, however, was the last straw. It was painful to see our own fans attacking our players. I go full of tears, but with my head held high. I wish Sri Lankan cricket all the very best,” Jayasuriya told Cricbuzz on Tuesday (August 29).