Taylor, Jarvis return as Zimbabwe announce new-look Test squad


The return of former captain Brendan Taylor and Kyle Jarvis are the highlights of the Zimbabwe’s new-look squad, announced on Tuesday (October 17), for the two-Test series against the visiting Windies side, starting Saturday.

The hosts have made as many as seven changes to the side that last played a Test, in Sri Lanka, leaving out Ryan Burl, Tarisai Musakanda, Carl Mumba, Natsai Mushangwe, Nathan Waller and Donald Tiripano, while Tendai Chatara misses out due to injury.

Australia-based all-rounder Solomon Mire has been included in the 16-member squad, and could be in line to make his Test debut. Uncapped wicketkeeper Nyasha Mayavo and left-armer Tendai Chisoro have also received call-ups, while Chamu Chibhabha, who wasn’t a part of the touring party in Sri Lanka, has been drafted into the squad too.

Seeking financial stability, Taylor and Jarvis had earlier opted to play county cricket in England under Kolpak contracts, but have since been convinced to return for national duty. Former captain of the national side, Taylor, averages almost 35 in 23 Tests matches and adds a wealth of experience to the side. Graeme Cremer, however, will continue in the captain’s role.

Both Tests are due to be played at the Queens Club in Bulawayo, starting October 21 and October 29 respectively.

Zimbabwe Test squad: Graeme Cremer (c), Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Peter Moor, Regis Chakabva, Michael Chinouya, Chris Mpofu, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chisoro, Nyasha Mayavo