Skip to main content
Karunaratne to lead Sri Lanka; 17-man Test squad announced

Karunaratne to lead Sri Lanka; 17-man Test squad announced

Chathura Kumar…

The Sri Lanka Test squad to tour South Africa has been announced with as much as 6 changes to the final squad which toured to Australia. Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the young side as the stand-in captain with the assistance of wicketkeeper batsman Niroshan Dikwella as his deputy.

In – Milinda Siriwardene, Kaushal Silva, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Mohomed Shiraz, Lasith Embuldeniya

Out – Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Dilruwan Perera

Test Uncapped - Lasith Embuldeniya, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Mohomed Shiraz

Dinesh Chandimal, who has been in poor form with just 1 half-century in his last 10 Test innings, has been given a break from international cricket to regain some form. His highest score in the most recent series against Australia was 15, which he scored in the 1st innings of the 2nd Test. The other two batsmen who have faced the wrath of the SLC selection committee are Sadeera Samarawickrama, who didn’t play a game in Australia, and Roshen Silva who failed to score big down under.

ICYMI: Chandimal to be given a break from international cricket?

Injured trio, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Lahiru Kumara are out of squad, so is veteran spinner Dilruwan Perera who didn’t see much success in New Zealand and Australia. The exciting young left arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya will be joining Lakshan Sandakan to complete the spin department. Embuldeniya has been rewarded with a national call for his consistent performance at Sri Lanka A, Sri Lanka Emerging and Club level.

Watch: Lasith Ambuldeniya - 10 wicket haul against SSC

23-year-old right arm pacer Mohomed Shiraz is the newest addition to the fast bowling front, and he will be accompanied by Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne and Kasun Rajitha. Shiraz is an impressive upcoming bowler with 23 wickets to his name in 7 matches in the spin-dominated Sri Lanka Premier League tournament.

Watch: U23 fast bowling sensation - Mohommad Shiraz

National discards Milinda Siriwardene and Kaushal Silva have been recalled to the squad again and will be joined by Oshada Fernando, who has been piling on the runs in the ongoing Premier League tournament with 6 centuries, and Angelo Perera, who scored timely twin double centuries versus Sinhalese Sports Club to equal an 81 year old record held by Arthur Fagg(Kent).

Sri Lanka have lost their final 6 test matches out of 7 since they decimated South Africa at home 2-0.

Read: Australia announce comeback with 2-0 pounding of Sri Lanka

The Sri Lanka tour of South Africa will commence on 13rd of February and will consist of 2 Tests, 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is.

Sri Lanka Test Squad

Dimuth Karunaratne – Stand-in Captain, Niroshan Dickwella – Vice Captain, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Janith Perera, Milinda Siriwardana, Dhananjaya De Silva, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha , Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Mohamed Shiraz, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Embuldeniya

Sri Lanka vs South Africa – Test match schedule

  • 1st Test – 13-17 February at Durban
  • 2nd Test – 21-25 February at Port Elizabeth

>>More Cricket News

National Cricket
Layout Content
Single Image Layout


We are professional and reliable provider since we offer customers the most powerful and beautiful themes. Besides, we always catch the latest technology and adapt to follow world’s new trends to deliver the best themes to the market.