The final of the U17 ‘A’ Division Girls’ All Island Basketball Tournament 2019, tipped off at the Holy Family Convent outdoor basketball court premises. Home team, Holy Family Convent (HFC) saw off Ladies’ College (LC) to win their second title for the year, 42-37, at full time.

LC opened the scoring sheet with a free-throw and HFC responded with a field goal. Even though LC edged ahead in the first quarter, HFC`s center Gayathi Jayasinghe and power-forward Minoli Direkce used their size advantage to swing the game back to the HFC side.  Apart from the heavy scoring, almost all the fouls were converted into points at the charity strike.

LC fell into early foul trouble as their star center Sabira Sinan was fouled out in the penultimate quarter. It was the turning point of the game, HFC`s game plan had worked, but LC`s fight back was gritty.

HFC had a significant size advantage and they played to their strengths ably assisted by their guards. The home team rotated all their 10 players whereas LC was restricted to 7 players, with the injury scare at hand.  

The early free-throws that were converted by HFC, was the difference in the score-board at the final whistle. The mere 05-point lead, led the hosts to victory.

1st Quarter2nd Quarter3rd Quarter4th Quarter/Final
Holy Family Convent 7213042
Ladies College8162637

HFC Coach, Shane Daniel, speaking with said,

“This is a journey we ventured together as a team. Our philosophy is to play for each other. We had some difficulties arranging practice sessions due to exams. Ladies’ College gave us a very good competition and we are really happy that we were able to put a good display of basketball for the fans”

LC Coach, Ajith Kuruppu, speaking with said,

“Our girls played as a team. Our main weakness was that we missed 15 free throws! If we had managed to convert at least 50% of them, we would have had a different outcome. This team has a lot of potential and I am confident they will be really good at the U-19 level as well”

Individual Awards

Best Offensive Player: Jovanna Fernando (LC)
Best Defensive Player: Gayathi Jayasinghe (HFC)
Most Valuable Player: Venara Jayasundara (HFC)