Herbert Cup, the annual basketball tournament organized by the Old Boy`s Association of St. Michael’s College, Batticaloa, has been revamped and revitalized for the 2018 edition.

The annual tournament featured top-notch clubs from Sri Lanka during the recent past and acted as one of the premier competitions for the domestic players to showcase their talent. Coming into the 2018 edition, the organizers, have shifted dimensions from club to schools.

Mr. Brinthan, a member of the organizing committee speaking with ThePapare.com said, We wanted to create more enthusiasm in the tournament and we believe schools is where the passion lies and enthusiasm erupts. Giving prominence to children will also help the future of basketball and we expect it to be a fierce and tough competition”.

Herbert Cup, the tournament was initiated seven years ago as a tribute to Rev.Fr. Eugene Herbert, who has rendered an immeasurable service for the sport in the paradise island. During the time of Rev. Fr. Herbert, St. Michael`s College’s Basketball developed from scratch to a legacy.

Read: The chronicle of the Herbert Cup

They emerged champions of the Junior National Tournament on six occasions out of where three championships were won consecutively in 1986, 1987 and 1988. It is recorded as an accomplishment no other team has achieved thus far.     

Revamping the tournament for 2018, 08 schools will compete in two groups to be crowned champions.

Group A Group B
St. Michael`s College – Batticaloa St. Peter`s College – Colombo 04
Trinity College – KandyMahinda College – Galle
Zahira College – Colombo 10Maris Stella College – Negmobo
Wesley College – Colombo  Angel International – Jaffna

The tournament will be played at two venues, at the Herbert Stadium in St. Michael`s College, Batticaloa and Miani Boys Town. The tournament has not only focused on the budding talent but also has connected all corners of the country. Starting from point Dondra to Pedro, schools from Colombo, Kandy, Galle and Jaffna will light up the championship.

St. Peter`s College – Colombo and Maris Stella College, two schools playing in the “A” Division Schools Basketball League, will pose an imminent threat to the rest of the contenders. Trinity College, Kandy and Zahira College, Colombo have been going through a revitalizing process in their sport and have come on top.

Even though there are top competitors gunning for the trophy, predictions will not prevail since it will be a new experience for all the players. The players will engage in the sport, in different weather conditions in Batticaloa.

In the past, out of the clubs that participated, Colombo Basketball Club and HSC Blues have won the championship twice while the hosts, Batticaloa won the tournament in 2015. In 2016, Sri Lanka Air Force Basketball Club clinched the trophy handsomely. It will also be written in the history books.  From 2018, the records of Herbert Cup will feature Sri Lanka`s top-notch schools who will elevate the competition to another level.

Stay logged with ThePapare.com as all the match articles will be published in both languages, Tamil and English together with photographs and highlights.