Sri Lanka Emerging Team off to a winning start


The defending champions, Sri Lanka Emerging Team got off to a winning start in the Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2018 beating Oman National Team by 109 runs in their opening match played at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Photos: Sri Lanka vs Oman – ACC Emerging Asia Cup 2018 | Waruna Lakmal | 07/12/2018 Editing and re-using images without permission of…

Sri Lanka skipper Charith Asalanka won the toss and had no hesitation to bat first on a placid surface. The two Lankan openers, Sandun Weerakkody and Avishka Fernando got off to a rollicking start smashing 72 runs in the first powerplay.

Soon after right-handed Fernando reached his fifty, Weerakkody fell in the 13th over when the score was 81. Right-arm off-spinner Jay Odedra struck again, when Fernando too fell for the guile of Odedra as Sri Lanka were restricted to 98 for 2. Fernando’s excellent knock of 56 off 54 balls had nine boundaries.

Read: Charith Asalanka to lead Sri Lanka in Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2018

Former Trinitian Hasitha Boyagoda looked in fine form at number three. He played a couple of eye-pleasing strokes to anchor the innings. Skipper Asalanka injured himself in the 23rd over and had to retire, which proved to be costly for the home team.

Kamindu Mendis joined Boyagoda and the young pair batted excellently to set up an excellent platform for Sri Lanka. Boyagoda top-scored with a brilliant knock of 80 off 94 deliveries with 6 fours and 1 six before falling to a short-pitched delivery of Bilal Khan.

Despite losing Boyagoda in the 38th over, Sri Lanka did not lose their momentum as vice-captain Sammu Ashan gave able support to Mendis to go past the elusive 300-run mark.

Asela Gunaratne, who is looking to make his comeback into the national team, failed to make an impact with the bat.

Mendis and Ashan scored at more than a run-a-ball as the Lankan innings gathered momentum. Mendis scored at over 120 to make a crucial 75 off 62 deliveries with 6 fours and 1 six. But, it was Ashan who provided the late blitz as Sri Lanka scored 95 runs in the final powerplay.

Photos: India vs Afghanistan | ACC Emerging Asia Cup 2018 | Viraj Kothalawala | 07/12/2018 Editing and re-using images without permission of…

Former Anandian Ashan bludgeoned 3 sixes and 3 fours to score a fine, unbeaten 57 off 34 deliveries as Sri Lanka posted 324 for 5 from their allotted 50 overs.

In reply, Oman too managed to get a decent start as their openers, Jatinder Singh and Twinkal Bhandari added 74 runs for the first wicket. Singh was dismissed by Mendis as Oman started losing wickets in quick time.

Photos : Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2018 – Press Conferences

Asela Gunaratne bowled economically but without any success while Shehan Madushanka and Sammu Ashan took crucial wickets in the middle period. Ashan bowled his full quota of 10 overs, capturing 2 wickets for 34 runs.

Oman batsmen were strangled by the Lankan slow bowlers as none of the batsmen were able to score over 36. They were not given any room whatsoever to get near the final target as they ended on 215 for 8 from their 50 overs.

Sri Lanka will take on Afghanistan on 8th December, Saturday at CCC Grounds.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka


(50 overs)




(50 overs)

Sri Lanka’s Innings

Sandun Weerakkody c M Nadeem b J Odedra2931
Avishka Fernando c & b J Odedra5654
Hasitha Boyagoda c J Singh b B Khan8094
Charith Asalanka not out1014
Kamindu Mendis lbw by B Khan7562
Asela Gunarathne st Bhandari b J Odedra310
Sammu Ashan not out5734
Chamika Karunarathne not out11
13 (b 5, lb 4, w 4)
324/5 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-81 (DS Weerakkody, 12.3 ov), 2-98 (WIA Fernando, 16.6 ov), 3-222 (H Boyagoda, 37.6 ov), 4-231 (DAS Gunaratne, 40.3 ov), 5-299 (PHKD Mendis, 48.1 ov)
Bilal Khan100612 6.10
Kaleemullah60630 10.50
Fayyaz Butt40420 10.50
Ajay Lalcheta81400 5.00
Jay Odedra100483 4.80
Zeeshan Maqsood100450 4.50
Khawar Ali20170 8.50

Oman ‘s Innings

Twinkal Bhandari c & b S Madushanka3254
Jatinder Singh c J Daniel b K Mendis3659
Aqib Ilyas (runout) K Mendis2829
Khawar Ali c S Weerakkody b S Madushanka05
Zeeshan Maqsood c J Daniel b S Ashan1625
Mohammad Nadeem lbw by S Ashan1329
Ajay Lalcheta b A Fernando3435
Fayyaz Butt c S Weerakkody b H Boyagoda2652
Jayesh Odedra not out710
Kaleemullah not out94
14 (b 2, lb 1, w 9, nb 2)
215/8 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-74 (Jatinder Singh, 18.1 ov), 2-80 (TK Bhandari, 19.3 ov), 3-92 (Khawar Ali, 21.5 ov), 4-116 (Aqib Ilyas, 27.1 ov), 5-129 (Zeeshan Maqsood, 30.5 ov), 6-143 (Mohammad Nadeem, 34.2 ov), 7-191 (AV Lalcheta, 45.2 ov), 8-205 (Fayyaz Butt, 49.1 ov)
Asitha Fernando70261 3.71
Chamika Karunarathne80330 4.13
Asela Gunarathne100330 3.30
Shehan Madushanka60452 7.50
Kamindu Mendis80311 3.88
Shammu Ashan100342 3.40
Hasitha Boyagoda10101 10.00