Siriwardane and Embuldeniya put Sri Lanka A close to victory

Ireland A Tour of Sri Lanka 2019


The second day’s play of the first test match between touring Ireland A team and Sri Lanka A team was played today at Sinhalese Sports Club grounds in Colombo with the hosts closing on a trouble-free victory over the visitors.  

Milinda Siriwardane and Kamindu Mendis lift Sri Lanka A

Sri Lanka A resumed day two on 185 runs for 4 wickets with Milinda Siriwardane and Kamindu Mendis remaining unbeaten on 73 and 64 respectively. Both batsmen continued to pile runs on the board strengthening their partnership for the fifth wicket. Left hander Milinda Siriwardane stroked a magnificent century before being dismissed by Irish left arm spinner James Cameron-Dow when the score was at 233 runs.

Axed Kaushal Silva puts SSC in control

Siriwardane’s knock of 104 runs came off 126 balls including 13 fours and 1 six. Left-handed stroke maker Kamindu Mendis missed his maiden first class century by 9 runs as he was bowled by Cameron-Dow in the 60th over. His knock of 91 runs came off 135 balls with 13 boundaries at a strike rate of 67. After their dismissals, the Sri Lankans continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 308 runs in the 78th over.

Milinda Siriwardana puts Saracens on top

Sri Lankans lost their last 5 wickets for 58 runs with left arm spinner James Cameron-Dow instrumental in causing this collapse as he grabbed 7 wickets for 77 runs for the visitors. Irish batsmen began their second innings 155 runs behind expecting a much better batting display but once again failed with the bat as they finished day two on 182 runs for 9 wickets.

18-year old Mahesh Theekshana stars for Colts CC

Left arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya who starred with the ball for the hosts in the first innings picking up 4 wickets, shone again grabbing a 5-wicket haul for 68 runs. In addition, right arm seamer Mohomed Shiraz picked up 2 wickets for 47 runs. Sri Lanka A is on the verge of a comprehensive victory with Ireland A leading by 27 runs with only 1 wicket remaining.

>>Photos : Ireland A Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2018/19 – 1st Four Day Game – Day 2<<


Full Scorecard

Ireland A

153/10 & 196/10

(54.3 overs)


Sri Lanka A

308/10 & 44/0

(6.5 overs)

Ireland A’s 1st Innings

S Doheny c Siriwardane b M Shiraz716
JA McCollum b L Ambuldeniya76108
A Gillespie lbw by M Shiraz26
JNK Shannon b M Shiraz03
H Tector b N Peiris010
L Tucker lbw by N Peiris02
MR Adair c M Sarathchandra b L Ambuldeniya119
N Rock c Fernando b M Shiraz2854
J Little b L Ambuldeniya521
JJ Garth c N Peiris b L Ambuldeniya1030
J Cameron-Dow not out718
7 (lb 1, nb 5, w 1)
153/10 (45.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-10 (S Doheny, 3.6 ov), 2-20 (A Gillespie, 7.1 ov), 3-21 (JNK Shannon, 7.3 ov), 4-41 (H Tector, 13.1 ov), 5-41 (L Tucker, 13.3 ov), 6-62 (MR Adair, 16.5 ov), 7-112 (N Rock, 30.3 ov), 8-129 (J Little, 35.3 ov), 9-136 (JA McCollum, 39.5 ov), 10-153 (JJ Garth, 45.2 ov)
Nisala Tharaka61200 3.33
Mohamed Shiraz131474 3.62
Lasith Ambuldeniya13.21464 3.48
Nishan Peiris110302 2.73
Ashan Priyanjan2090 4.50

Sri Lanka A’s 1st Innings

Pathum Nissanka b Cameron-Dow1141
Avishka Fernando c Tucker b Adair2031
Ashan Priyanjan c Tucker b Adair66
Angelo Perera c Tucker b Adair48
Milinda Siriwardane c Gillespie b Cameron-Dow104126
Kamindu Mendis b Cameron-Dow91135
Manoj Sarathchandra lbw by Cameron-Dow2038
Nisala Tharaka b Cameron-Dow611
Lasith Ambuldeniya c Hector b Cameron-Dow1023
Mohomed Shiraz c Adair b Cameron-Dow1741
Nishan Peiris not out510
14 (b 5, lb 2, nb 7)
308/10 (77.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-32 (WIA Fernando, 10.4 ov), 2-42 (SMA Priyanjan, 12.4 ov), 3-42 (P Nissanka, 13.1 ov), 4-46 (AK Perera, 14.6 ov), 5-233 (TAM Siriwardana, 54.6 ov), 6-252 (PHKD Mendis, 59.2 ov), 7-263 (NT Gamage, 63.2 ov), 8-276 (DM Sarathchandra, 65.3 ov), 9-297 (L Ambuldeniya, 73.4 ov), 10-308 (M Shiraz, 77.1 ov)
Joshua Little111670 6.09
James Cameron-Dow26.17777 2.95
Mark Adair143433 3.07
Jonathan Garth70280 4.00
Harry Tector110540 4.91
James Shannon80320 4.00

Ireland A’s 2nd Innings

S Doheny c K Mendis b L Ambuldeniya718
JNK Shannon lbw by L Ambuldeniya3247
A Gillespie c A Fernando b L Ambuldeniya1323
H Tector lbw by K Mendis116
L Tucker c M Siriwardane b M Shiraz2657
MR Adair c A Fernando b L Ambuldeniya1742
N Rock c N Tharaka b L Ambuldeniya1741
J Little c K Mendis b M Shiraz1810
JJ Garth not out1529
J Cameron-Dow b A Priyanjan1827
10 (b 4, lb 1, nb 5)
196/10 (54.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-16 (S Doheny, 5.3 ov), 2-40 (A Gillespie, 11.5 ov), 3-57 (JNK Shannon, 15.6 ov), 4-63 (H Tector, 18.4 ov), 5-103 (MR Adair, 33.2 ov), 6-103 (L Tucker, 34.1 ov), 7-123 (J Little, 36.5 ov), 8-156 (J Little, 36.5 ov), 9-162 (N Rock, 45.6 ov), 10-196 (J Cameron-Dow, 54.3 ov)
Nisala Tharaka81251 3.13
Mohamed Shiraz102472 4.70
Lasith Ambuldeniya216735 3.48
Nishan Peiris70290 4.14
Kamindu Mendis83131 1.63
Ashan Priyanjan0.3041 13.33

Sri Lanka A’s 2nd Innings

Pathum Nissanka not out2623
Avishka Fernando not out1618
2 (lb 2)
44/0 (6.5 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Mark Adair30210 7.00
James Cameron-Dow31130 4.33
Jonathan Garth0.5080 16.00