Sri Lanka ‘A’ squad for India tour revised due to injuries

Sri Lanka A tour of India 2019


Left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya and Dushmantha Chameera have been ruled out of the Sri Lanka A squad that is set to travel to India for 2 four-day games and 5 one dayers next week. 

Embuldeniya has not played any competitive cricket after he dislocated his thumb while fielding off his own bowling during the second Test match against South Africa at Port-Elizabeth. Earlier, he picked up a five-wicket haul on his debut match at Durban. Sri Lanka went onto to record a historic 2-0 win in the series. 

Read: Sri Lanka A squads released

“He [Embuldeniya] was training with us during the last few days but showed discomfort while fielding. So we decided to give him more time to recover fully. Hopefully, he can make a comeback with the Sri Lanka Emerging team. “ Sri Lanka ‘A’ head coach Roy Dias said on Friday.

Veteran spinner Malinda Pushpakumara who has played 4 Test matches so far, has been named as his replacement. Pushpakumara, who has been a star in the Sri Lanka domestic setup for many years, finished as the highest wicket-taker in the 2018/19 season as well.

Watch: Malinda Pushpakumara’s match bag of 12/171

Meanwhile, fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera has aggravated his back injury, which has hampered his bright career in the recent past. The tall and lanky seamer was ruled out of the Australian tour earlier this year due to an ankle injury.

He has been pulled out of both the four-day squad and one-day squad for the ‘A’ series. Chameera will be replaced by another promising seamer, Asitha Fernando.

Photos: Media Briefing on Sri Lanka ‘A’ Team tour to India

The squad will be captained by Ashan Priyanjan and will leave the island on 20th May (Monday).

“We have been training very well in the past two weeks. The selectors have named plenty of senior players, who have prior international experience. Both the squads are well-balanced and we are determined to do well in India. “ Priyanjan said.

The revised squad will be as follows


Ashan Priyanjan – Captain, Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sangeeth Cooray, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Priyamal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Malinda Pushpakumara, Chamika Karunaratne, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Lahiru Kumara


Ashan Priyanjan – Captain, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Ishan Jayaratne, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumara

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team will play two four-day matches and five unofficial ODIs during the tour, which will commence on the 25th May 2019.


May 25-28 – 1st Four Day Match at Belgaum

May 31-June 03 – 2nd Four Day Match at Hubli

June 06 – 1st One-Day at Belgaum

June 08 – 2nd One-Day at Belgaum

June 10 – 3rd One-Day at Belgaum

June 13 – 4th One-Day at Hubli

June 15 – 5th One-Day at Hubli

>>National Cricket<<