Home Cricket International Cricket Rampant Bangladesh add to South Africa’s World Cup agony

Rampant Bangladesh add to South Africa’s World Cup agony

CWC19 | South Africa vs Bangladesh


Bangladesh made the perfect start to their World Cup campaign as their highest one-day international score inspired a 21-run win over a beleaguered South Africa on Sunday.

Mashrafe Mortaza’s side posted 330 for six as Mushfiqur Rahim (78) and Shakib Al Hasan (75) laid the foundations of their impressive display at the Oval.

Mahmudullah’s boisterous 46 not out from 33 balls pushed Bangladesh past their previous highest one-day international total of 329 for six against Pakistan in 2015.

>>ICC Cricket World Cup 2019<<

Attempting to become the first team to successfully chase more than 330 to win a World Cup match, South Africa’s bid to rewrite the record books fell short at 309 for eight.

Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis scored 62 from 53 balls, but Bangladesh seamer Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets and economical spinners Shakib and Mehidy Hasan wrapped up a memorable victory.

After reaching the World Cup quarter-finals in 2015, Bangladesh once again look capable of shaking up cricket’s established order, much to the delight of their army of vociferous supporters who packed the Oval.

“It will be one of our top wins,” said Shakib at the presentation ceremony.

“We have done some upsets at World Cups but we want to prove something at this tournament.”

In contrast, South Africa are in turmoil after du Plessis’ decision to bowl first backfired despite two wickets from veteran spinner Imran Tahir in his 100th ODI appearance.

With the World Cup just four days old, they have already lost twice in south London — this disappointing performance coming hot on the heels of their 104-run thrashing by hosts England in the tournament opener.

South Africa, who have never won the World Cup, are left with little margin for error in the rest of the 10-team group stage, which sees each country play nine matches.

It won’t get any easier for Du Plessis’ troubled side in their next match when they face title contenders India on Wednesday.

Quinton de Kock and Aiden Markram needed to get South Africa’s chase off to a fast start and they reached 49 before a disastrous blunder sent them spiralling towards defeat.

Australia’s Warner stars in Afghan World Cup romp

This clip will only be available in Sri Lanka for viewing up to 3 days from the date of upload. David Warner………

– Adrenaline flowing –

De Kock was run out for 23 after being rashly called for a single by Markram, whose partner’s edge was fumbled by Mushfiqur before the wicket-keeper recovered to throw out the opener.

That brought du Plessis to the crease and together with Markram he put on 53 in 60 balls.

But Shakib curtailed that partnership when his perfectly-flighted delivery bowled Markham for 45 to leave South Africa 102 for two in the 20th over.

That made Shakib just the fifth player to score 5,000 runs and take 250 wickets in ODIs.

Du Plessis got to fifty off 45 balls, reaching the milestone with a six off Mosaddek Hossain.

But that blast got du Plessis’ adrenaline flowing too fast and a charge at Mehidy saw him bowled after he misjudged the flight.

David Miller’s lofted shot was dropped by Soumya Sarkar at mid-off and he escaped again when Mahmudullah couldn’t grab his mistimed drive.

However, Miller’s luck ran out when he was caught by Mehidy off Mustafizur for 38 to leave the Proteas in disarray.

The required run-rate was at 10 an over by the time Rassie van der Dussen’s agricultural swipe saw him bowled by Mohammad Saifuddin for 41.

Saifuddin removed Andile Phehlukwayo to push South Africa to the brink and when JP Duminy was bowled by Mustafizur for a defiant 45, Bangladesh’s jubilant fans could get the party started.

>>Click here for more Cricket News<<


South Africa
309/8 (50)
330/6 (50)
Tamim Iqbal c Quinton de Kock b Andile Phehlukwayo16292055.17
Soumya Sarkar c Quinton de Kock b Chris Morris423090140.00
Shakib Al Hasan (vc) b Imran Tahir75848189.29
Mushfiqur Rahim c Rassie van der Dussen b Andile Phehlukwayo78808097.50
Mohammad Mithun b Imran Tahir212121100.00
Mahmudullah not out463331139.39
Mosaddek Hossain c Andile Phehlukwayo b Chris Morris26304086.67
Mehidy Hasan Miraz not out5310166.67
Extras21 (b 0 , lb 9 , nb 0, w 12, pen 0)
Total330/6 (50 Overs, RR: 6.6)
Fall of Wickets 1-60 (8.2) Tamim Iqbal, 2-242 (39.4) Mohammad Mithun, 3-250 (42.1) Mushfiqur Rahim, 4-316 (48.6) Mosaddek Hossain, 5-11 (75) Soumya Sarkar, 6-35 (217) Shakib Al Hasan (vc),
Lungi Ngidi403408.50
Kagiso Rabada1005705.70
Andile Phehlukwayo1015225.20
Chris Morris1007327.30
Aiden Markram503807.60
Imran Tahir1005725.70
JP Duminy1010010.00

Quinton de Kock run out ()23324071.88
Aiden Markram b Shakib Al Hasan (vc)45564080.36
Faf du Plessis b Mehidy Hasan Miraz625351116.98
David Miller c Mehidy Hasan Miraz b Mustafizur Rahman38432088.37
Rassie van der Dussen b Mohammad Saifuddin413821107.89
JP Duminy b Mustafizur Rahman453640125.00
Andile Phehlukwayo c Shakib Al Hasan (vc) b Mohammad Saifuddin8131061.54
Chris Morris c Soumya Sarkar b Mustafizur Rahman101010100.00
Kagiso Rabada not out13901144.44
Imran Tahir not out101000100.00
Extras14 (b 4 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 9, pen 0)
Total309/8 (50 Overs, RR: 6.18)
Fall of Wickets 1-49 (9.4) Quinton de Kock, 2-102 (19.4) Aiden Markram, 3-147 (26.4) Faf du Plessis, 4-202 (35.2) David Miller, 5-228 (39.1) Rassie van der Dussen, 6-252 (42.5) Andile Phehlukwayo, 7-275 (45.5) Chris Morris, 8-287 (47.1) JP Duminy,
Mushfiqur Rahim1006736.70
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1004414.40
Mohammad Saifuddin815727.12
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1005015.00
Mashrafe Mortaza604908.17
Mosaddek Hossain603806.33