Home Cricket Maduwantha, Embuldeniya stars in tame draw

Maduwantha, Embuldeniya stars in tame draw

Close of play on day-three – SA Emerging 441 (108.1) & 92/1 (27) | SL Emerging 388 (112.5) 


Sri Lanka Emerging ended their tour to South Africa with a 1-0 series defeat as the 2nd unofficial Test ended in a draw at Pretoria on Sunday, 28th July 2019.

>>Pramod’s ton keeps SL Emerging alive<<

After posting an intimidating 441 run on the board for the first innings, the hosts restricted the Lankans to 388 runs. It was a decent fight back from the visitors but a long stay in the middle awaited in the 2nd innings.

The Proteas started the day with an overnight score of 92 for the loss of a solitary wicket. Mr. Reliable, Janneman Malan was at the crease with his skipper Raynard van Tonder. Van Tonder who smacked a cracking ton in the first-innings, found himself dismissed for 31 runs by the left-arm spin of Lasith Embuldeniya. 

Malan joined Jason Smith at the centre to keep the Lankan bowlers in thirst for wickets for a good 20 overs. They accumulated 56 runs together during that period. 

>>Sri Lanka Emerging lose 5 after Embula’s 8-fer<<

Malan added another half-century to his tally in this tour as the crafty right-hander scored 84 runs batting out 162 deliveries. He has been exceptional throughout the series with scores in both the one-dayers and Tests reading 85, 108, 18, 60, 68, 75, 01, 35 and 84. 

Following Malan’s dismissal, the intentions of the hosts became quite clear. It was all about batting time. They were quite happy with a tame draw, rather than going for a hustling win. 

Mathew Breetzke was the next man in. Both he and Smith batted with visible patience and it started to worry the visitors, having done quite a lot of bowling throughout this game. 

Smith scored a 158-minute 62 runs with 3 boundaries and 3 sixes before being caught behind to a Pramod Maduwantha delivery. 

>>Proteas ahead on day 1 of 2nd unofficial Test<<

The right-arm off-spinner got rid of the new batsman Sinethemba Qeshile too in quick succession.

Yet, the game seemed quite far away from the visitors’ reach. South Africa had already put over 300 runs between them. Hence, the game was brought to a close with South Africa at 260 for 5 in 90 overs. Breetzke was unbeaten on 38 in 89 deliveries. 

The left-arm magician, Lasith Embuldeniya, who is in the form of his life, wrapped up a match-bag of 10 wickets in a game where 1089 runs were scored. That makes it his second consecutive 10 wicket-haul on tour and 3rd successful outing in South Africa, following his exploits with the national team not too long ago.

Pramod Maduwantha also picked up a couple of wickets to make his presence even more valuable, following his fighting ton with the bat. 

South Africa Emerging won the Test series 1-0 while Sri Lanka Emerging will fly back after some satisfying performances throughout the tour.

>>> Click here for more cricket news <<< 


Sri Lanka Emerging Team
388/10 (112.5)
South Africa Emerging Team
441/10 (108.1) & 260/5 (90)
Janneman Malan b Jehan Daniel35385092.11
Wandile Makwetu c Minod Bhanuka b Lasith Embuldeniya25532147.17
Raynard van Tonder c Charith Asalanka b Lasith Embuldeniya13726714151.31
Jason Smith b Lasith Embuldeniya34621154.84
Matthew Breetzke c Minod Bhanuka b Lasith Embuldeniya13270048.15
Sinethemba Qeshile c Charith Asalanka b Lasith Embuldeniya87899297.75
Dayyaan Galiem c Minod Bhanuka b Lasith Embuldeniya8162050.00
Kyle Simmonds c Hasitha Boyagoda b Lasith Embuldeniya735783128.07
M Jansen c Minod Bhanuka b Lasith Embuldeniya3190015.79
Thando Ntini not out14291048.28
Tladi Bokako run out (Pathum Nissanka)00000.00
Extras12 (b 3 , lb 0 , nb 8, w 1, pen 0)
Total441/10 (108.1 Overs, RR: 4.08)
Fall of Wickets 1-50 (13.1) Janneman Malan, 2-71 (17.2) Wandile Makwetu, 3-151 (41.5) Jason Smith, 4-173 (49.2) Matthew Breetzke, 5-326 (85.2) Sinethemba Qeshile, 6-342 (89.3) Dayyaan Galiem, 7-363 (93.4) Raynard van Tonder, 8-383 (99.2) M Jansen, 9-441 (107.6) Kyle Simmonds, 10-441 (108.1) Tladi Bokako,
Mohamed Shiraz2439604.00
Kalana Perera822302.88
Chamika Karunarathne1636103.81
Jehan Daniel613115.17
Lasith Embuldeniya42515683.71
Nishan Peiris10.105705.64
Charith Asalanka201407.00
Lahiru Udara c Sinethemba Qeshile b M Jansen8142057.14
Minod Bhanuka c Sinethemba Qeshile b Thando Ntini56658186.15
Pathum Nissanka lbw b Thando Ntini32475068.09
Charith Asalanka c Raynard van Tonder b Thando Ntini18262069.23
Promod Maduwantha c Sinethemba Qeshile b Thando Ntini1112369047.03
Jehan Daniel c Sinethemba Qeshile b M Jansen361005036.00
Kalana Perera c Jason Smith b Dayyaan Galiem17421140.48
Chamika Karunarathne c Wandile Makwetu b M Jansen53974054.64
Mohamed Shiraz c Jason Smith b M Jansen23503046.00
Nishan Peiris not out481050.00
Lasith Embuldeniya c Raynard van Tonder b M Jansen03000.00
Extras30 (b 12 , lb 4 , nb 11, w 3, pen 0)
Total388/10 (112.5 Overs, RR: 3.44)
Fall of Wickets 1-13 (3.3) Lahiru Udara, 2-88 (19.2) Pathum Nissanka, 3-118 (23.4) Minod Bhanuka, 4-128 (25.6) Charith Asalanka, 5-217 (59.4) Jehan Daniel, 6-250 (74.3) Kalana Perera, 7-333 (99.2) Promod Maduwantha, 8-379 (110.1) Chamika Karunarathne, 9-388 (112.2) Mohamed Shiraz, 10-388 (112.5) Lasith Embuldeniya,
Tladi Bokako1615303.31
M Jansen19.556953.54
Dayyaan Galiem2127213.43
Thando Ntini2157643.62
Kyle Simmonds2958202.83
Jason Smith612103.50

Janneman Malan c Jehan Daniel b Kalana Perera841626051.85
Wandile Makwetu lbw b Lasith Embuldeniya26632041.27
Raynard van Tonder c Lahiru Udara b Lasith Embuldeniya31803038.75
Jason Smith c Lahiru Udara b Promod Maduwantha621303347.69
Matthew Breetzke not out38893042.70
Sinethemba Qeshile c Jehan Daniel b Promod Maduwantha113007.69
Dayyaan Galiem not out3170017.65
Extras15 (b 1 , lb 0 , nb 14, w 0, pen 0)
Total260/5 (90 Overs, RR: 2.89)
Fall of Wickets 1-46 (15.5) Wandile Makwetu, 2-129 (41.4) Raynard van Tonder, 3-185 (59.5) Janneman Malan, 4-245 (80.5) Jason Smith, 5-251 (84.5) Sinethemba Qeshile,
Kalana Perera1534312.87
Lasith Embuldeniya3459922.91
Mohamed Shiraz511703.40
Chamika Karunarathne1134203.82
Jehan Daniel42701.75
Nishan Peiris1443102.21
Promod Maduwantha702022.86