Sachithra, Vandersay and Malinga demolish Dimo


Teejay Lanka overcame Dimo by 7 wickets in the 25th Singer-MCA Premier League cricket encounter which was worked off today in Katunayake.

Dimo skipper Nisala Tharaka won the toss and opted to bat first in the game played at FTZ grounds, Katunayake. The decision went wrong as the Teejay Lanka stars got the better off the Dimo batting line-up with an outstanding bowling effort.

Tall lanky off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake was the chief destroyer as he grabbed 4 wickets along with right-arm leggie Jeffrey Vandersay who supported him with 3 scalps to dismantle Dimo to a paltry 78 all out inside 25 overs. Pramud Hettiwaththa(24*) and Ramesh Mendis(21) were the only positives in Dimo innings.

Chasing 79 to win, U19 youth skipper Charith Asalanka steered Teejay Lanka with a brisk 31 to give his team a convincing 7 wicket win over Dimo.

Brief scores

Dimo 78 all out 24.4 overs – Pramud Hettiwaththa 24*, Ramesh Mendis 21, Sachithra Senanayake 4/10, Jeffrey Vandersay 3/25, Lasith Malinga 2/10.

Teejay Lanka PLC 79/3 14.4 overs – Charith Asalanka 31, Nisala Tharaka 2/43.

Result – Teejay Lanka won by 7 wickets.

Tireless hard work and determination helped tremendously – Sadeera Samarawickrama