Prabagaran leads Sri Lanka Open by Eight Strokes going in to Final Round


The hills are alive with the ongoing Sri Lankan open 2017. Nuwara Eliya witnessed the beauty of Golf with K. Prabakaran, Aruna Rohana, G.P. Sisira Kumara and Mithun Perera showing off their skills and securing top spots at the end of the second round. Third day was altogether a great day for the golfers; they executed each stroke with great focus, accuracy and more importantly- style, keeping in mind that they shouldn’t give up until the last swing.

K.Prabagaran fired an Eagle on the 18th to finish the 3rd Round 2 under, for an eight under par total going in to the Final round. Mithun Perera fought hard with a dogged 2 under par to take 2nd place on Even Par for the Open Championship eight shots behind the leader. He was able to overtake Aruna Rohana and G.P. Sisira Kumara.

Anura Rohana is in 3rd place a further stroke behind. He can still fight back and fight till the last swing.  However, the sensation for the day was B G Lalith Kumara who had a scintillating run of Six Birdies on the 2nd, 4th, 5th, 7th,10th, 11th and an Eagle on the 8th to be 8 under par playing the 12th hole, at which stage Lalith Kumara was in 2nd place, 4 strokes behind leader Prabagaran. Nonetheless, Lalith Kumara blundered in Switzerland and dropped seven strokes 2 double Bogeys and 3 Bogeys on 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 17th respectively to be just 1 under playing the 18th and birdied the last hole to finish on 2 under par, overall 4th place 11 strokes behind the leader. Nuwara Eliya home hero, Prabagaran was set to win comfortably having won the Sri Lanka Open twice before at the RCGC in 2014 & 2015.

Softlogic Holdings Group the Principal Sponsor of the Sri Lanka Open 2017 are also the proud Tour Sponsor of Mithun Perera & Anura Rohana on the PGTI (Professional Golf Tour of India). These two Golfers lie in 2nd and 3rd position going into the last round, where any surprise is possible even though the lead of 8 strokes can be too much on Prabagaran’s home Course.

The CAT SOLAR Pin Fernando Grand Prix saw overall leader B A Sanjeewa taking the lead by 4 strokes from Sisira Kumara, with M U Chanaka Perera in 3rd place.

The Sri Lanka Open 2017 is moving towards an interesting finish and the Prize Giving Ceremony will follow the morning play around 1.30 p.m. Principal Sponsor Softlogic Holdings, Co-sponsor CAT SOLAR UTE, and other affiliate sponsors will be present at the event to encourage and support the Golfers.

Let’s hope for sunny days ahead and a good game of Golf.


  • 205 – K. Prabagaran (65, 71, 69)
  • 213 – Mithun Perera (73, 71, 69)
  • 214 – R A Anura Rohana (69, 74, 71)
  • 216 – B G Lalith Kumara (73, 74, 69)
  • 217 – B A Sanjeewa (73, 71, 73)
  • 221 – G P Sisira Kumara (71, 73, 77)
  • 222 – N. Thangaraja (76, 71, 75)
  • 227 – M U Chanaka Perera (74, 75, 78)

  • 229 – R. Pathmanathan (75, 75, 79)
  • 231 – J M D indika(79, 77, 75), Vijitha Bandara(77, 81, 73)
  • 217 – B A Sanjeewa
  • 221 – G P Sisira Kumara
  • 227 – M U Chanaka Perera
  • 231 – J M D Indika
  • 232 – T Akash
  • 234 – M H Chalitha Pushpika, Navinda Ranga
  • 235 – N Amarapadma
  • 240 – D M P P Bandara
  • 241 – G M Pradeep Kumara, R Sureshan