S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia won the Warden Selvarathnam Memorial Trophy when they defeated St. John’s College, Jaffna on first innings in their annual U19 cricket encounter which ended today at STC grounds in Mount Lavinia.

The Thomian skipper Romesh Nallaperuma won the toss and elected to bat yesterday on a flat surface. The hosts batting excelled quite well as they racked up 406 for 3 before declaring in 80.2 overs.

Opening batsmen, Ravindu Kodituwakku and Dulith Gunarathne shared a stunning 156-run stand before left-handed Kodituwakku was undone after a sterling 92. Left-handed Gunarathne continued to make headway as he smashed 143 runs in 225 balls which included 7 fours and 4 sixes. He was involved in a 135-run stand for the 3rd wicket with Manthila Wijerathne as well.

Wijerathne too crossed the triple figures and the home team declared the innings as soon he reached the milestone. Right-handed Wijerathne remained unbeaten on 103 from 114 balls with 11 fours and a six. In reply, the Johnians were 39 for no loss at close of play yesterday.

Resuming their first innings, the visitors were outclassed by the left-arm spin of Pavith Rathnayake who went on to take 6 for 47. J Krishanthujan top scored with a fine 82 as they were bowled out for 174.

The hosts enforced the follow-on hoping for an outright win. The lads from Jaffna survived a tough spell of 43 overs to end day two on 100 for 7. Krishanthujan was the savior once again scoring 36 while skipper Nallaperuma and left-armer Rathnayake took 3 wickets apiece.

Individual Awards

Best Batsman – Manthila Wijerathne (STC)
Best Bowler – Pavith Rathnayake (STC)
Best Fielder – V Jathushan  (SJC)
Man of the Match – Dulith Gunarathne (STC)

S. Thomas’ College – 406/3 declared in 80.2 overs: Ravindu Kodituwakku 92, Dulith Gunarathne 143, Manthila Wijerathne 103*, Ka Kabilraj 2/107.

St. John’s College 174 all out in 67.2 overs: J Krishanthujan 82, V Jathushan 46, Pavith Rathnayake 6/47, Kishan Munasinghe 1/28.

St. John’s College (2nd Inn F/O) – 100/7 in 43 overs: J Krishanthujan 36, Romesh Nallaperuma 3/19, Pavith Rathnayake 3/19.