Bloomfield C & AC skipper Nipun Karunanayake has been selected as the Captain of the Sri Lanka President’s XI for the three-day warm-up match against England Lions which starts tomorrow (12th February) in Moratuwa.

From the 13-man squad, right-arm off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal is only player to have played international cricket. Kaushal has been out of the international scene since his ‘doosra’ was found to be illegal by ICC in 2015. Left-handed Karunanayke is currently the top run-scorer in the Premier League Tier A tournament with 926 runs in 9 games including 3 centuries and 4 fifties.

Can the England Lions withstand the Lankan challenge?

A month long England Lions tour of Sri Lanka will commence next week with the Keaton Jennings led…

CCC opening batsman Ron Chandragupta who has been in terrific form lately scoring 837 in 9 games has also been included along with Premier League ‘tier B’ top run-getter from Kurunegala YCC, Hashan Prabath.

Soldier Leo Fransisco and former Sri Lanka U19 player Dilan Jayalath are the two wicket-keepers in the squad which includes four seamers in Vimukthi Perera, Kasun Madushanka, Nisala Tharaka and Asitha Fernando.

Chilaw Marians’ left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara who has taken 77 wickets so far in the domestic competition from 9 matches will partner Kaushal on a spin-friendly surface at De Zoysa Stadium in the cricket-crazy town of Moratuwa.

SL President’s XI – Nipun Karunanayake (Bloomfield), Irosh Samarasooriya (Saracens), Hashan Dumindu (Colts), Dilan Jayalath (SSC), Hashan Prabath (KYCC), Leo Fransisco (SL Army), Ron Chandragupta (CCC), Kasun Madushanka (SSC), Asitha Fernando (Chilaw Marians), Vimukthi Perera (SSC), Nisala Tharaka (Colts), Malinda Pushpakumara (Chilaw Marians), Tharindu Kaushal (NCC).

Officials – Jerry Woultersz – Team Manager,  Head Coach – Sumithra Warnakulasuriya, Fast Bowling Coach – Chaminda Vaas, Spin Bowling Coach – Piyal Wijethunga, Fielding Coach – Upul Chandana Physiotherapist – Priyantha Wickramasinghe, Trainer – Darshana Weerasinghe, Analyst – Dulip Samarasekara.