Avishka Perera and Lasitha Rasanjana steered Nalanda College to an innings and 37 run win against Dharmapala College Pannipitiya, in their Singer Schools Cricket Tournament 2016/17 Group A encounter worked off at Nalanda grounds today.

Nalanda College vs Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya

Resuming day two at 62 for 6, the visitors were bowled out in their 1st innings for a modest 162 in 60 overs, Mahima Weerakoon top scored with an unbeaten 60, while Lasitha Rasanjana picked up a 5 wicket haul for the home team.

The hosts invited the Palians to follow-on and dismissed the visitors for just 108. Kanishka Jayasundara scored 39 runs, but it was not enough as the lads from Pannipitiya went down by innings. Suhanga Wijewardana was made to work for his 3 wickets.

Nalanda College – 307 for 6 declared in 65 overs: Avishka Perera 109, Dasun Senavirathne 48, Kasun Sandaruwan 45*, Malinga Amarasinghe 35, Mahima Weerakoon 3/89.

Dharmapala College – 162 all out 60.2 overs: Mahima Weerakoon 60*, Lasitha Rasanjana 5/37, Kalana Perera 2/39, Malinga Amarasinghe 2/35

Dharmapala College 2nd innings F/O – 108 all out in 47.3 overs: Kanishka Jayasundara 39, Suhanga Wijewardana 3/09, Kalana Perera 2/27, Madushan Hasaranga 2/17

Ananda College vs Darmashoka College Ambalangoda

Ananda skipper Kavishka Anjula won the toss and invited the Sokians to bat first, the lads from Ambalangoda were restricted to 152 of 44.2 overs. Kaveesh Kumara top scored with 48, while spinners Ashel Sigera and Sammu Ashan ran through the Dharmashoka batting line up.

In reply, Ananda College was in a commanding position at stumps, thanks to crucial knocks from Ashel Sigera 91 and an unbeaten 81 by Supun Waragoda later on in the day. Lasith Kumara took 3 for 29 for the visitors.

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda – 156 all out in 44.2 overs: Kaveesh Kumara 48, Harshajith Rushan 31, Ravindu Rashantha 20, Ashel Sigera 4/12, Sammu Ashan 3/64.

Ananda College, Colombo – 219/7 in 55 overs: Supun Waragoda 82*, Ashel Sigera 91, Lasith Kumara 3/29, Ushan Imantha 2/80.

Match will continue for day two tomorrow.

S. Thomas College, Mt. Lavinia vs Anuradhapura Central College

Anuradhapura Central won the toss and gave the home-team a chance to bat and hosts piled on 261, Dulith Gunarathne stroked a brilliant 82, while Ravintha Prabashwara took 7 wickets for the visitors in their Group C game played at S. Thomas’ grounds today.

In reply, Anuradhapura Central were struggling at 106 for 9 wickets, Dilshan Lakshitha was unbeaten on 27, while Kalana Perera bagged 3 wickets for hosts.

S.Thomas College, Mt. Lavinia – 261 all out in 65.1 overs: Dulith Gunarathne 82, Romesh Nallapperuma 69, Ravindu Kodithuvakku 28, Ravintha Prabashwara 7/76, Dananjaya Thamvita 2/28

Anuradhapura Central College – 106 for 9 in 26 overs: Dilshan Lakshitha 27*, Maduranga Chandrarathne 25*, Kalana Perera 3/16, Dinura Gunawardana 2/12

Match will continue for day two tomorrow.