Nadee Fernando will captain the Sri Lanka Youth Netball team at the upcoming 10th Asian Youth Netball Championship in South Korea.

The final 12 member squad was announced recently along with the three standby players. Only three players from the 2015 Asian Youth Netball Championship winning side remains, namely Nadee,  vice-captain Hashini Perera and Sachini Rodrigo.

New faces in Youth Netball squad

The current Asian Youth Netball Champions Sri Lanka will tour South Korea on the 6th to the 13th of May for the Asian Youth Championships to be held in Jeonju city…

When Sri Lanka won the 2015 Championship under Gayani Dissanayake, the team had experienced players including Gayani, Thishala Algama and Gayanjali Amarawansa who had represented the senior side. The side also had Dulangi Wannithilake and Ruvini Yatigammana who had been in the national squad for a couple of years.

The squad this year, has two school girls amongst the 12; Rashmi Perera from Presbyterian Girls’ College, Dehiwala and Tharushi Ilangarathne from Visakha Vidyalaya.

The initial 30 member squad was chosen after selections were held at the Nawalapitiya Jayathilake Sports Complex on the 27th of January. It was further cut down to 18 members in late February.

Apart from the two school girls there are four players from Army SC, two from Seylan Bank and Navy SC.

Thamara Liyanage, who was the coach in 2015, will be in charge this time as well. The squad has been in training at the Jayathilake Sports Complex in Nawalapitiya for the tournament which will be held from 7th–14th May.


Nadee Fernando (Kalutara District) – Hashini Perera (Army SC) – Kaveena Rajapaksha (Army SC) – Sachini Rodrigo (Army SC) – Poornima Lakshani (Army SC) – Maleesha Rathnayake (Seylan) – Mandira Sampath (Seylan) – T.N.Hapuarachchi (Navy SC) – Nirmani Perera (Navy SC) – Hansima Dissanayake (Air Force SC) – Rashmi Perera (Presbyterian Girls’ College) – Tharushi Ilangarathne (Visakha Vidyalaya)


Chathuni Hansani Kumari (Air Force SC) – Ruwani Malporu (Mahamaya Girls’ College) – Achila Sanji (Air Force SC)