Nestle Lanka PLC for the 26th time together with the Sri Lanka Schools’ Netball Association (SLSNA) will conduct the Milo All Island Schools’ Netball Championship from the 3rd-5th August at the Vincent Dias Stadium, Badulla.

The tournament will be conducted under three age groups – U14, U16 & U18. More than 4,000 players representing 360 teams are expected to participate in the tournament.

All the teams will be categorized into two divisions – ‘A’ & ‘B’. The schools which consist of more than 1000 students will come under Division A while schools below 1000 students will be included in Division B.

HFC Kurunegala once again crowned as the champions in All Island Netball

Sri Lanka Schools Netball Association in collaboration with sponsors Nestle Lanka, organized the All Island Netball Championship for the 25th consecutive time.

It is heartening to note that 2 school players represented Sri Lanka at the 2017 Asian Youth Netball Championship held in South Korea. They are Rashmi Diwyanjali from Presbyterian Girls’ School, Dehiwala and Tharushi Illangarathne from Visakha Vidyalaya.

What was even more impressive was that fact that 5 school players represented Sri Lanka at the Netball World Youth Cup in Bostwana a few weeks back. Tharushi Illangarathne and Mellony Wijesinghe from Visakha Vidyalaya, Natasha Aluvihare from Hillwood College, Kandy, Sethmi Danoshi and Suseema Bandara from Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala.

Last Year’s Results

A Division

ChampionHoly Family Convent, KurunegalaVisakha Vidyalaya, Col. 5Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala
2nd placeSt.Bridget’s Convent, Col. 7Kaluthara Balika VidyalayaAnanda Balika Vidyalaya, Col. 10
3rd placeMusaeus College, Col.7Maliyadewa Balika Vidyalaya, KurunegalaVisakha Vidyalaya, Col. 5
4th placeGothami Balika Vidyalaya, Col. 10Ladies College, Col. 7Maliyadeva Balika Vidyalaya, Kurunegala
Best PlayerRoshel Fernando (St.Bridget’s Convent)Mellony Wijesinghe (Visakha Vidyalaya)G.A.Pabasara (Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala)

B Division

ChampionSirimalwaththa KV, GunnepanaBandarapola MV, MathaleRanjan Wijerathna MV, Buttala
2nd placeBandarapola MV, MathaleDevi Balika MV, DompeAnanda Central College, Walhaputhenna
3rd placeElleweva MV, PolonnaruwaRahula MV, NedalagamuwaBandarapola MV, Mathale
4th placeYatihena KV, MalwanaChrist King College, PannipitiyaAnurudda Central College, Lunuwila
Best PlayerPawani Wijekeerthi (Sirimalwaththa KV)Uresha Chathurangani (Bandarapola MV)Nimesha Madushani (Ranjan Wijerathna MV)