The 25th Singer – MCA Knockout Cricket Tournament held its four pre-quarter finals in Colombo.

MAS Unichela secure 25th Singer-MCA Premier League crown

Four matches of the 25th Singer-MCA Premier League 2017/2018 Tournament were worked off around…

Kanrich Finance vs John Keells Holdings

Kanrich Finance produced a major upset when they defeated John Keells Holdings by 6 wickets in their match played at De Zoysa Stadium in Moratuwa.

After being sent into bat, JKH were bowled out for just 157 runs in 36.1 overs. Dimuth Karunarathne fresh from his Test heroics in the UAE made 36 while Banuka Rajapaksha slammed 31. Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, the veteran off-spinner claimed 4 wickets while Kavindu Kulasekara and Roshan Anurudda took 2 wickets each.

Chasing 153 runs to win according to D/L method, Oshadha Fernando made an unbeaten to 62 to guide Kanrich Finance to victory. Kasun Vidura and Pathum Nissanka made 24 and 23 respectively. Off-spinner Maduka Liyanapathiranage scalped 2 wickets.

John Keells – 157 all out in 36.1 overs: Dimuth Karunarathne 36, Banuka Rajapaksha 31, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara 4/10, Roshan Anuruddha 2/16, Kavindu Kulasekara 2/32

Kanrich Finance – 153/4 in 33.3 overs: Oshadha Fernando 62*, Kasun Vidura 24, Pathum Nissanka 23, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 3/23.

LB Finance vs Hayleys

LB Finance advanced to the next stage despite their game against Hayleys ending without a result due to rain at MCA grounds.

In a match reduced to a 28-over affair, Hayleys were bowled out for just 114 runs. Left-arm spin duo Charith Sudaraka and Angelo Perera shared 7 wickets while off-spinner Rajeewa Weerasinghe took 2 wickets for LB Finance. In reply, Isuru Udana blasted 80 off 35 balls with 2 fours and 9 sixes to set the tone for LB Finance before rain intervened.

LB Finance advanced to the quarter-finals due to their higher rating in the knockout league.

Hayleys – 114 all out in 26.2 overs: Lisula Lakshan 26, Chanaka Ruwansiri 21, Charith Sudaraka 4/39, Angelo Perera 3/20, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 2/20.

LB Finance – 113/3 in 14 overs: Isuru Udana 80.

Sampath Bank vs Tee Jay Lanka

Another washout at BRC grounds prompted the team with higher ratings to qualify for the quarter-finals.

Sampath Bank made a cracking 252 for 8 from their allotted 42 overs. Rumesh Buddhika made a quick-fire 70 while Lakshan Sandakan and Kasun Madushanka took 2 wickets apiece for Tee Jay Lanka.

Read More : Rajeewa, Angelo and Priyamal end MAS Unichela’s unbeaten run

Dhammika Prasad, playing his first competitive match since his shoulder surgery bowled 8 overs, gave away 33 runs for one wicket. In reply, Tee Jay Lanka were 102 for 2 in 18 overs when rain brought a premature end to the game.

Sampath – 252/8 in 42 overs: Rumesh Buddika 70, Avishka Fernando 26, Dinuk Wickramanayke 26, Lakshan Sandakan 2/49, Kasun Madusanka 2/17, Dhammika Prasad 1/33.

Tee Jay Lanka – 102/2 in 18 overs: Sithara Gimhan 34*, Kithruwan Vithanage 34, Dilan Jayalath 29, Hasantha Fernando 2/08.

Dimo vs Hatton National Bank

Dimo was knocked out of the tournament due to bad weather as Hatton National Bank booked their place in the quarter-finals after their pre-quarter final match ended without a result at Colts grounds.

Batting first in a 38-over encounter, Dimo stroked 188 for 8 with stylish right-hander Hashan Dumindu scoring a brilliant 66. In reply, the match was once again scheduled for a 22-over game with the target of 135 runs for HNB. They were 103 for 5 when bad light stopped play.  

Dimo – 188/8 in 38 overs: Hashan Dumindu 66, Nipun Karunayake 25, Buddhi Perera 2/28, Sajeewa Weerakoon 2/38.

HNB – 103/5 in 19 overs: Navindu Nirmal 35, Sameera Soysa 32, Pramud Hettiwatta 2/31.

Quarter-final lineup

  • Hatton National Bank vs LB Finance – 22nd October – Colts Grounds
  • Tee Jay Lanka vs Kanrich Finance – 22nd October – MCA Grounds