Pasan and Navod put Mahinda College on top


Mahinda College was 70/3 in their first innings after bundling out their arch rivals Richmond College for 170 runs on day one of the 113th ‘Lover’s Quarrel’ at Galle International Cricket Stadium on Friday.  

Skipper of Mahinda College, Kavinda Reshan won the toss and asked Richmond College to take the first lease of the wicket. Richmond College could not get off to a good start as their star player and Sri Lanka U19 captain Kamindu Mendis was dismissed for just 4 runs. Richmondites continued to lose wickets and once stage they were 60 runs for 4 wickets. Skipper Dhananjaya Lakshan tried to rescue the innings but he was also dismissed for 31 runs.

Duvin Kalanasuriya and Dilum Sudeera showed some resistance with the bat building a 56 runs partnership for the 5th wicket. After the departure of Duvin Kalanasuriya for 42 runs, wickets were continued to fall and Richmondites were restricted for 170 runs in their first innings.

Left arm fast bowler Pasan Pethangoda who was the standout bowler for Mahinda College this season excelled again with the ball picking up 5 wickets for 46 runs. Left arm spinner Navod Paranavithana supported him well at the other end picking up 3 wickets for 20 runs.

In reply, Mahinda College got off to a good start thanks to the openers Navod Paranavithana and Hansika Welihinda who put on a 40 run partnership for the first wicket. However, they lost 3 quick wickets for 30 runs as Mahinda College finished day one on 70 runs for 3 wickets. Inform batsman Navod Paranavithana was dismissed for 27 runs while Hansika Welihinda remained unbeaten on 20 runs for Mahinda College. Richmondite all-rounder Dilum Sudeera picked up 2 wickets for 20 runs with his left arm spin. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.


Full Scorecard

Richmond College

170/10 & 150/4

(33 overs)


Mahinda College

118/10 & 20/2

(15 overs)

Match Drawn

Richmond College’s 1st Innings

Kamindu Mendis c Vinura Dulsara b Prameeth Thevarapperuma413
Dhananjaya Lakshan c Prameeth Thevarapperuma b Kavindu Ediriweera3169
Adithya Siriwardena b Navod Paranavithana1027
Thaveesha Abishek st. by Vinura Dulsara b Pasan Pethangoda953
Duveen Kalanasuriya c Subanu Rajapaksha b Navod Paranavithana4272
Dilum Sudeera lbw by Pasan Pethangoda2581
Avindu Theekshana c Prameeth Thevarapperuma b Pasan Pethangoda2232
Sandun Mendis c Navod Paranavithana b Pasan Pethangoda47
Vimud Sapnaka b Navod Paranavithana16
Vishmitha Wijesiri c Kavindu Ediriweera b Pasan Pethangoda814
Amshi de Silva not out26
Nipun Malinga80140 1.75
Pasan Pethangoda12.41465 3.71
Prameeth Thevarapper51121 2.40
Navod Paranavithana157203 1.33
Subanu Rajapaksha82220 2.75
Kavindu Ediriweera120391 3.25
Kevin Kotthigoda2090 4.50
170/10 (62.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-07, 2-27, 3-58, 4-60, 5-116, 6-134, 7-146, 8-160, 9-160, 10-170

Mahinda College’s 1st Innings

Navod Paranavithana b Sandun Mendis2758
Hansika Welihinda lbw by Dilum Sudeera2679
Vinura Dulsara c Avindu Theekshana b Dilum Sudeera953
Kevin Kotthigoda c Sandun Mendis b Dilum Sudeera63
Kavindu Ediriweera lbw by Sandun Mendis423
Nipun Malinga st. by Sammu Vimud Sapnaka b Sandun Mendis1317
Ashen Kandambi c Dhananjaya Lakshan b Dilum Sudeera114
Reshan Kavinda st. by Sammu Vimud Sapnaka b Sandun Mendis1122
Pasan Pethangoda c Sammu Vimud Sapnaka b Dilum Sudeera938
Prameeth Thevarapper c & b Sandun Mendis210
Subanu Rajapaksha not out26
Dhananjaya Lakshan51210 4.20
Amshi de Silva50150 3.00
Sandun Mendis196385 2.00
Dilum Sudeera20.49295 1.42
Avindu Theekshana4190 2.25
118/10 (53.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-40, 2-57, 3-63, 4-80, 5-80, 6-90, 7-99, 8-106, 9-114, 10-118