Daniel heroics in vain as Sri Lanka succumb to 1-4 loss


The Australia U19s won the 5th and final youth ODI by 23 runs to clinch the five match series 4-1.
Three of the top four Australian batsmen made half centuries after they won the toss and decided to bat first in Hobart today. Max Bryant looked in ominous form and top scored with 67 off just 57 before he was cleaned up by left arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama.

Jason Sangha chipped in with 59 while Matthew Spoors guided the latter part of the innings to remain unbeaten on 65* as the hosts reached 244/4 in their allotted fifty overs.

Read More : Zak Evans wrecks havoc as Austin Waugh anchors Aussies to a series win

Jayawickrama bowled best for the visitors, picking up two wickets while he got good support from the other bowlers to restrict the Australians from breaking free in the death overs.

The Lankan openers Nipun Sumanasinghe and Vishwa Chathuranga got them off to a good star as they reached the fifty run mark for no loss in the first power play. But a triple strike from Will Sutherland pegged things back for the Australia U19s as the visitors were reduced to 118/4 in the 25th over.

Krishan Arachchige then joined Jehan Daniel and the duo were involved in a useful partnership of 74 runs which left the Lankans with just 53 runs to get off 55 balls with six wickets in hand.

But Australia U19 skipper Param Uppal struck gold for the Aussies with the scalp of Daniel as the Lankans lost their last six wickets for just 29 runs.

Read More : Jehan fifty to no avail as Aussies win third ODI

Daniel was at his fluent best stroking 4 boundaries in a knock of 75 off just 89 balls while Arachchige made a fighting 36 but it was not enough to prevent the Australians from completing a 4-1 series win.

Will Sutherland and Lloyd Pope were the most successful bowlers for the hosts sharing six wickets between them.

Australia U19s 244/4 (50) Max Bryant 67, Jason Sangha 59, Mathew Spoors 65*, Kamindu Mendis 1/27, Praveen Jayawickrama 2/47, Hareen Weerasinghe 1/27

Sri Lanka U19s 221 (48.5) Jehan Daniel 75, Krishan Arachchige 36, Vishwa Chaturanga 31, Kamindu Mendis 25, Nipun Sumanasinghe 21, Will Sutherland 3/24, Lloyd Pope 3/40, Mathew Spoors 2/24