Top Asian professionals scheduled to play in JAT Sri Lanka Open 2016


The Sri Lanka Golf Union in an endeavor to professionalize Sri Lanka Golf has embarked on a journey to establish Sri Lanka as an alternative Professional Golf Circuit in the South East Asian region attracting more Sri Lankans to turn professional and join the circuit.

JAT Sri Lanka Open 2016 is the platform for JAT Holdings & SLGU to partner in the development of Sri Lanka Golf.

A minimum of six Indian professionals who played in the Sri Lanka Open of 2014 & 2015, seem certain to play this year as well and overall the JAT Sri Lanka Open is poised to have an interesting competition. Among the local professional stalwarts competing will be K. Prabagaran, the National Champ, winner of the Sri Lanka Open twice 2013-2014 and N. Thangarajah who won the Sri Lanka Open in 2015. Giving them stiff competition will be B. G. Lalith Kumara, Vijitha Bandara and the Royal Colombo Golf Club professional, Jehan De Seram who will fight it out to win the 2016 championship. Not forgetting the one and only Mithun Perera who is currently playing the Yeangder Tournament Players Championship, on the Asian Tour; will be returning for the tournament accompanied by others on the Asian Tour to take a break in sunny Sri Lanka.

In the amateur and youngsters’ category Kushal Johnpillai, Husni Uwise, Alain Gyi, Prashan Peiris, Sachin De Silva, Amrith De Soyza, Avinesh Nareshkumar and 13 time RCGC champion Rusi Captain will also be competing in the tournament.

The title sponsor cheque for Rs. 2,000,000/- (Rs. Two Million) was also handed over, with a guaranteed prize purse of the JAT Sri Lanka Open 2016 at Rs. 2,500,000/- (Rs. Two Million Five Hundred Thousand)

At the time of going to press UTE-CAT, a regular supporter of Sri Lanka Golf has confirmed Co-Sponsorship joining title sponsor JAT to ensure Sri Lanka Golf’s journey continues.

All in all the JAT Sri Lanka Open 2016 is set to fire on all cylinders and augurs well for the development of Sri Lanka Golf.