Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka U19s tops South Africa in a low scoring thriller

Sri Lanka U19s tops South Africa in a low scoring thriller

ICC Under 19 World Cup 2020 - Warm-ups

The Sri Lanka U19 and South African U19 teams met today (12th January) at Braamfischer Oval, Soweto for their first warm-up match of ICC U19 World Cup which was officially commenced on 17th January 2020. The host team fell short of 15 runs from the target; 198, Lankans set in the first innings.

>>Watch – Sri Lanka U19 Squad<<

Sri Lanka U19 skipper Nipun Dhananjaya (St Joseph Vaz College) won the toss and did not hesitate to bat first at Braamfischer Oval. The Lankan opening batsmen and wicket-keeper Kamil Mishara (Royal College) couldn’t stay long in the middle as he nicked one behind to keeper Luke Beaufort off right-arm pacer Gerald Coetzee’s bowling adding only 1 to the scorecard.

Mishara’s partner Navod Paranavithana (Mahinda College) was the star of the 1st innings as he made batting seem effortless with his immaculate strokes while wickets continued to tumble from opposite end. Paranavithana struck 12 boundaries and 1 six on his way to a brilliant 64-ball 68 bolstering Sri Lanka’s total to a respectable position.

Apart from Paranavithana, Ahan wickramasinghe was the only other batsmen who succeed in challenging the South African bowlers as he made a busy 34 guiding the total to 197. Kavindu Nadeeshan (Dharmasoka College) also made a valuable contribution with a knock of 22 runs as the 11th man.

In reply, the South Africans cruised at one stage thanks to the opener Jonathan Bird’s run-a-ball 71 but the boys in blue pulled back the scoring rate, taking wickets at regular intervals. Sri Lanka spinners did a great job as the South Africans were reduced to 9-158 after placing themselves on 3-99 during the 21st over.

>>Photos – SL U19s depature to South Africa<<

There was a worrying time when the last wicket partnership kept creeping past the ’20s as the South Africans were close to winning with only 16 runs left. However, the brilliance of Ashain Daniel (St Joseph’s College) on the field produced a runout to wrap the host’s innings on 182.

Richmondite Amshi de Silva came later on in the innings, with 2 wickets in one over to end the match at 2/30 in his 7 overs.

>>Watch – Navod Paranavithana’s fluent 51<<

The Sri Lankan U19 team will meet Pakistan on 14th January at Irene County Club, Pretoria for their next warm-up match. Keep logged on to ThePapare.com for all the live updates, scorecards, match reports and information on this tournament.

>>For more cricket click here<<


South Africa U19
182/10 (44.1)
Sri Lanka U19
197/10 (48.4)
Navod Paranavithana c Gerald Coetzee b Tiaan van Vuuren6864121106.25
Kamil Mishara c Luke Beaufort b Gerald Coetzee150020.00
Ravindu De Silva c Luke Beaufort b Gerald Coetzee10181055.56
Thaveesha Abhishek c Gerald Coetzee b Merrick Brett14261153.85
Nipun Dananjaya lbw b Merrick Brett03000.00
Sonal Dinusha c Luke Beaufort b Pheko Moletsane4111036.36
Ahan Wicrkamasinghe c Jack Lees b Tiaan van Vuuren34574059.65
Chamindu Wijesinghe run out (Manje Levert)470057.14
Ashian Daniel run out (Bryce Parsons)7220031.82
Dilum Sudheera not out16401040.00
Kavindu Nadeeshan b22402055.00
Extras17 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 16, pen 0)
Total197/10 (48.4 Overs, RR: 4.05)
Fall of Wickets 1-4 (2.1) Kamil Mishara, 2-38 (7.3) Ravindu De Silva, 3-82 (15.5) Thaveesha Abhishek, 4-87 (17.2) Nipun Dananjaya, 5-105 (20.2) Sonal Dinusha, 6-117 (23.2) Navod Paranavithana, 7-129 (26.2) Chamindu Wijesinghe, 8-156 (34.5) Ashian Daniel, 9-159 (36.3) Ahan Wicrkamasinghe, 10-201 (48.4) Kavindu Nadeeshan,
Gerald Coetzee712113.00
Achille Cloete602914.83
Bryce Parsons603606.00
Merrick Brett703024.29
Pheko Moletsane302217.33
Tiaan van Vuuren721522.14
Odirile Modimokoane8.413213.81
Jonathan Bird401604.00

Andrew Louw lbw b Dilum Sudheera15232065.22
Jonathan Bird c Ashian Daniel b Nipun Dananjaya71768193.42
Bryce Parsons c Mohammad Samaaz b Ashian Daniel240050.00
Tyrese Karelse b Matheesha Pathirana3180016.67
Pheko Moletsane b Kavindu Nadeeshan8170047.06
Jack Lees run out (Ashian Daniel)46703065.71
Luke Beaufort c Amshi De Silva b Chamindu Wijesinghe380037.50
Tiaan van Vuuren run out (Dilum Sudheera)9190047.37
Gerald Coetzee b Amshi De Silva691066.67
Merrick Brett lbw b Amshi De Silva02000.00
Achille Cloete not out6191031.58
Extras13 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 13, pen 0)
Total182/10 (44.1 Overs, RR: 4.12)
Fall of Wickets 1-48 (9.3) Andrew Louw, 2-59 (10.6) Bryce Parsons, 3-72 (15.3) Tyrese Karelse, 4-99 (20.3) Pheko Moletsane, 5-119 (25.6) Jonathan Bird, 6-126 (28.1) Luke Beaufort, 7-146 (33.6) Tiaan van Vuuren, 8-158 (36.4) Gerald Coetzee, 9-158 (36.6) Merrick Brett, 10-182 (44.1) Jack Lees,
Dilshan Madusanka603405.67
Amshi De Silva713024.29
Ashian Daniel6.102013.28
Dilum Sudheera601512.50
Matheesha Pathirana604016.67
Kavindu Nadeeshan501412.80
Chamindu Wijesinghe402015.00
Nipun Dananjaya40912.25